Skip to content

Christmas has Merry…

December 23, 2010

Before:

 

After:

The kids are in bed now, sleeping almost before their heads hit the pillow.  Outside the snow is falling again.  Soft white.  Almost innocent.  Today was our celebration, just the five of us, of  Christmas Eve’s Eve, because the actual Eve and the actual day are so crazy.  It is my favorite day of celebration.

I am exhausted and (still) sick, but this night was worth all of the craziness that preceded it.  My last final was Saturday, because school was canceled on Dec. 11 due to the massive snow storm that passed though.  I have pulled Christmas together in five days.  Cards were written and created on Sunday.  Shopping completely took over everything Monday until the snow storm hit.  Then shoveling nudged ahead.  Tuesday I shopped all day and baked into the night.  Yesterday I shopped all day, checked in with the doctor (virus) and then began wrapping.  Today was grocery shopping (I am hosting Christmas dinner) and mailing  and preparing for our family celebration, which meant wrapping at warped speed and cooking.

I still have to wrap a few last presents for tomorrow’s celebration at my parent’s house.  I will make the mashed potatoes and scalloped corn tomorrow as well.  I may, if I am really on top of things get everything ready for our Christmas breakfast too, so I will be able to get up on Christmas day and just be ready.  However, I may nap.

So much has transpired since my last real post the beginning of November.  I will do an update soon.  Any clues to what you want to be updated with would be appreciated.  I have been lurking on your sites.  I promise to comment soon.  I love to hear all about what you are up to, and I apologize for ditching out while I tried not to drown.

But what I really wanted to say to you tonight was this:  Merry Christmas.  Feel the Magic.  Share the Wonder.

Sending my love right out to you and yours this beautiful, snow-covered Christmas Eve’s Eve.  I hope your celebrations are as grand as ours has started to be.

xoxo

8 Comments
  1. December 24, 2010 4:47 am

    Merry merry merry Christmas to you, Megsie!! I hope your holidays are simply wonderful. Rest and relax a bit and take some time for yourself. Thinking of you and sending lots of hugs!!

    • January 1, 2011 8:59 am

      Thanks Liz, I have taken some time, and I am sending hugs right back to you! xo!

  2. December 24, 2010 8:41 am

    You are Super Woman! Wishing you the sweetest Christmas, and yes, please take a nap. Or three. Your children look so happy and you are amazing for pulling off Christmas! And I want to be updated on everything! Absolutely everything! I love you and miss you.

    • January 1, 2011 9:00 am

      The nap didn’t happen, but neither did the cooking :) Love right back at you! xo

  3. December 27, 2010 7:26 am

    oh Megsie– first, your kids are adorable!! and second– what??? all that working when you are sick– I can’t even imagine it– you need to crawl into bed woman, and let the world drop off while you nurse yourself back to health . ..

    if not, well then– load up on the chocolate caramels, I say!

    xoxoxoxoxooxoxox, Elizabeth

    • January 1, 2011 9:02 am

      Thank you Elizabeth…can I tell you how much it meant to see your comment? It is like a Christmas gift in itself! And I totally took your advice, chocolate caramels have excellent healing powers! Love to you!

  4. December 27, 2010 2:50 pm

    Oh lord! Your living room looks EXACTLY as mine did after. Before: it gleamed, it glistened, everything was in it’s place…and then… TORNADO.

    Well worth the grins and glee :)

    Merry Christmas to you Meg! And a very happy new year…
    xoxo
    Christina

    • January 1, 2011 9:03 am

      Isn’t it fun to see them open presents? Even the mess is fun! Thanks for stopping in, I was so excited to see your comment :) Love to you!

Comments are closed.

