Skip to content

Happy New Year!

January 1, 2011

 

I have no idea when this was taken...

Last year I made resolutions and plastered them right here on this blog for all to see.  The intention was to revisit them on the first of every month so I was accountable.  Great idea, right?  I may have kept more of them if I actually DID that.  But, I am what I am:  Lazy.  And I must LIKE being lazy, because every year I vow to do basically the same things.  There is a most definite discrepancy between who I want to be and who I actually am.

 

So, here they are, my resolutions for 2010:

  1. Climb back on the wagon of health.  Start with eating better, then add in exercise.  Join my friends at Weight Watchers (again) so I have the support I need.  I will be going back this week.  I actually did this last January.  I joined Weight Watchers and lost about one-third of the weight that I wanted to lose.  I went to meetings every week and listened.  Then…I ate whatever the hell I wanted to and didn’t lose another pound.  I stopped going to meetings, but kept paying for them, and then my credit card expired in July and I never gave them the new expiration date.  A colossal FAIL.  As for exercise, I did begin to walk then run, I also went to my Yoga class once a week.  That all ended when I began teaching in August.
  2. Organize, purge and decorate.  My house is the place that I love to be most of all.  I want to be able to look around and be proud of what I see.  This is always a struggle for me.  I am really trying to see the potential here, and so far so good on that front.  I did great for about two weeks.  This got my trouble spots in order on the main level, which was the part that was driving me crazy.  The decorating part didn’t happen.  And neither did cleaning out the closets.
  3. Write more.  Mostly in my own little writer’s notebook.  Since I have started to blog, I have let that part go, and it is a different writing than should go on here.  And, as for this blog, I am going to try to reply to all comments in the comment section.  I love that Liz does this and I am always a little giddy when I go back to see what she says.  I really didn’t write much in my writer’s notebook.  I did pretty well blogging, except for the last two months of the year.  I did great on the comments, again, until the December posts.  Back on the bandwagon this year!
  4. Read more.  Specifically, read the news paper daily.  I gave this up a while ago, and it freed up so much time that I loved it.  But now I don’t know what the heck is going on in the world.  I am also going to keep track of the books that I read.  I haven’t read one yet this year, but I will let you know when I do.  I think I kept track of all the books that I read, except the one I read this past week.  Shiver.  A YA novel that was so lovely.  As for the paper reading:  FAIL.  I am such a slow reader that it takes me forever to get through the paper.  I will try this again.  I have been reading the paper this week…
  5. Enjoy my kids more.  They are growing up so fast.  I want to drink them in while I still can.  I don’t know how I did with this one.  I know I wasn’t as intentional as I wanted to be, but I also know that I did enjoy them…I am counting this as success.  I need ONE right?
  6. Find a job that I love.  HOW THE HECK AM I GOING TO DO THAT?  I don’t know.  I see a lot of desires, and I have a lot of potential…but….Aaaaahhhhhhh!  Oh!  I did this one!  Yay!  I think that I will love it too.  I just need to learn more.  I am on it!
  7. Invite friends to dinner.  This is last year’s resolution.  It goes along with #2.  I did better last year, but there is still a lot of room for improvement.  Once a month.  Have someone over.  How hard can it be?  (You would be surprised.) I really don’t think I invited ANYONE over last year.  The biggest FAIL of all, but also not surprising.  (See LAZY above.)  The only people I had over was family, for birthdays or holidays, which are requirements.  I wish I was better about this.

So, the failure is right there in black and white (and purple).  I did a little on each thing and then gave up which is just like me!

I am sitting here in the bright morning of 2011.  I am a little shaken that it is here already.  I still feel like it should be November.  The warped speed of time since Halloween has been unreal to me.  But now, here I am.  It is snowing lightly in the morning light, the sky is as white as the snow on the ground.  There is an eerie glow to the world outside.  And it is quiet.  I have the whole year stretched out before me and a challenge from Christina asking me:  What do you manifest? This is another perspective to look from when beginning the new year.  Manifest.  All of the “shoulds” fall to the wayside when the New Year is framed like that.  However, my desires are the same:  Clean house, fit body, good parenting, reading/writing, good teaching, good friendships.  When they are listed like that, it seems obvious.  Who doesn’t want those things?  They are broad and unattainable.  I can never have a perfect house, a perfect body, or be a perfect parent/teacher/friend.  The reading/writing, well, that is specific, but it is also time sensitive.  If I have time, then I do it.  It looks to me like I need to make small specific goals.  And ones that don’t fill me with dread.  Cleaning the closets:  Dread.  They do need to be done though.

What do I want to manifest?

  1. I want to begin classes in order to earn my K-12 reading license.  I love going to school, and I need to learn more about the reading process in older students.  I will have to wait until summer, and I hope that I will find a slot in my schedule where I can take the first class.  Either that, or I will have to consider taking classes online.  I don’t want to do that, though.
  2. I want to change-up my routine.  I want to get up early again and walk.  I am not going to hang a bunch of expectations on the walk, like then I can start running and become a super model.  I just want to get up and take a walk.  Maybe with my camera.  I like to walk.  It should be self-motivating.  If this leads to running down the road, great.  If not, I will be moving more than from bed to chair to couch here at home, and I will have some inspiration to write as well.
  3. I want to be more present to all the people who I love.  This means getting my work done at work, and being home when I am home.  My schedule this semester seems like it will be good for this.  We’ll see if I am right.
  4. My house is my favorite place to be.  I would like to figure out a way to keep up with it and make it beautiful that will be more of a routine than a task.  I am not sure how to do this yet.  However, I like my “three things a day” that I began with last year.  I will try it again.
  5. I also feel the need to put down the once a month have someone over.  I really want to do this.  I just am always so tired and it is so much work.  Clean the house, plan a meal, cook the meal… and it has to be really good.  I need perfection when I think of this.  I have to get over that.  I just remembered that we did have friends over this summer…so yay.  One month I did it.  Maybe I should plan it NOW, so I can just DO it when the time comes!

I am not sure if this really answers that question:  What do I manifest?  But it will have to do.  These are basically the same things I wrote about last year, and I have a sneaking suspicion that these are the things I will be working on the rest of my life.  But that is okay.  I think they are good goals to live a life by, right?  Now, if only I will just DO IT!

Happy New Year to all of you!  You enrich my life more than you know, all of your words inspire me.  And your comments are so appreciated.  You all are so important in my life!  I am glad to be on this journey with you.


9 Comments
  1. January 1, 2011 11:38 am

    I don’t think that resolutions are a good thing if you look back at them and think FAIL. You tried, you took steps, you worked on things and life keeps happening to move your course over a bit from where you maybe wanted it to go. Not necessarily a bad thing.

    I’m with you on the walk part, for sure! Trying not to hang extra expectations on it is HARD. But I plan to start: Monday’s the day, since vacation is officially over then :)

    Great list and great plans, Megsie! Go go go! I’ll go with you :)

    • January 1, 2011 12:19 pm

      I agree, but it is true–Epic FAIL. Obviously I don’t take it too seriously, or I would definitely be in therapy for depression. It is really how I am framing the resolutions. Broad, over arching, expecting perfection. Not really attainable. That is why number one is the “real” goal. Specific. Attainable, I hope. I will either take a class or not, right? And I got a job, that was the one specific goal from last year. I am not really that surprised about the others.

      I really wish you lived here so we could actually walk together. It would be a highlight of my day! And, I would SO have you over for dinner :) Minnesota is not really that different from Sweden, you would feel right at home! Happy New Year Liz! xo

  2. January 1, 2011 8:07 pm

    Happy New Year!

    Your resolution on WeWa had me giggling. Only because I did the same thing!!!! I think you had a great year! You are an awesome mom and it shows in your kids.

    • January 2, 2011 3:28 am

      The weight watchers thing is so hard. It WORKS when you do it, but somehow, I only did it the first time. The other times I knew I wasn’t following the program, but I didn’t WANT to follow the program. I think you have to hit rock bottom before you can do it. I am so mad that I gained all that weight back. If I would have just kept with the program…UGH!

      Happy New Year to you too Carly!!

  3. Ramona permalink
    January 3, 2011 10:46 am

    here via my togopgraphy
    happy new year to you.
    I think all we can do is just pick up ourselves and move forward. again and again. I practice alot.

    • January 3, 2011 3:25 pm

      Hi Ramona! Thanks for stopping by. And that is exactly what I am doing: Picking my self up and moving forward. I may write that on a post it note and stick it right here on my computer, it is such great advice. Happy New Year!

  4. January 3, 2011 6:08 pm

    Happy New Year! I have been writing alot, but not on my blog, but I miss the connection. Thanks for stopping by! I’m going to put up a new year’s post myself soon…

    Your post made me think…I like the 3 thigns a day thing for the house. It seems hard though, the line between everyday chores and deeper stuff can become slippery.

    I’m totally with you on ‘just take a walk’. I love walking. My own personal resolution is 15 minutes of exercise a day–if it gets to the end of the day and I haven’t done anything, well, I’ll just stretch on teh floor for 15 minutes. I’ve learned recently that the first step to making goals for me is saying to myself (and really FEELING) “I can do that”. Start small. That’s my mantra right now. The feeling of success then when I meet the small goals fuels more goals, rather than overrunning me with disappointment for not meeting my overambitious goals (which is my usual way).

    Good luck!

    xo from sf

    • January 3, 2011 6:44 pm

      Oh, Willlow! I LOVE the 15 minutes a day thing! Even more than my “walk” that didn’t happen today. I could do “Just Dance Two” on Wii for 15 minutes with my girls after dinner tonight and NOT FAIL TODAY! Or, I could do the Yoga video… OH, the POSSIBILITIES! I am doing that as a back up, no walk then 15 minutes. Starting today. Possibly. Ha!

      I can’t wait to read your post. I love your blog. And, yes I hear you on the “every day” chores and the deeper ones, but I count what ever NEEDS to be done, and if that is laundry (because when ISN”T it laundry?) then it totally counts even if it is just putting one basket away.

      Thanks for helping me succeed today (maybe…) and Happy New Year!

Trackbacks

  1. A Whole New Year « Becoming Megsie…

Comments are closed.

