Skip to content

Let it Snow, let it snow, let it snow…

January 3, 2011

Outside my window the snow falls, silently.  Everything is hushed and white.  The snowflakes are fluffy and fill the air making everything in your gaze fuzzy.

I am snug and warm inside next to the Christmas Tree and its twinkling lights.  It is so quiet that I can hear the tapping of my keyboard as I type.  (This rarely happens.)

The children went back to school today.  They were excited and sad all at once.  They miss their friends, but not the schedule.  Just like I miss my quiet, but also dislike the hectic mornings to get ready and get to school.  The activities resume today as well.  Sarah has choir, and Nicholas has hockey.  We are thrust back into the three-ring-circus of life.

I went into work today.  I had not looked at anything work-related since the Sunday before Christmas.  I met with a colleague who teaches the course that I will be teaching for the first time this semester.  We are so much alike that we didn’t really get much done.  We chatted philosophy most of the time.  We spent three hours at school and then went to lunch.  I just got home, and the kids will be home shortly.  It is so reassuring to hear that someone else is struggling with the same things I am.  I am meeting with two different people on Wednesday.

I love this time, before school (for me) actually begins and after school (for the children) has started.  I love the freedom of it all.  When you have small children, you are so limited in what you can do.  If you need to do something without them present, you have to find someone to care for them.  Either that or you have to bring them with you.  Today, I just kenneled the dog and left.  I didn’t look at the time once, I knew we would be done before I needed to be back home.  It was a gift.  One that I regularly took for granted before I had kids.  I had forgotten what it was like to feel that freedom.  Even though there were days during the semester in the fall when I didn’t work and the kids were at school, this was different.  I didn’t HAVE to be anywhere.  I chose to have this meeting.  I didn’t have to rush through it either.  And, I know Spring Semester begins on Monday (!) but right now, I have NO students.  It is like a free fall.  I know I will land (hard) soon enough.

I haven’t started on my new (old) resolutions yet.  I am still on vacation.  I meant to get up and walk today, but I was coughing so much last night that I didn’t go to bed until 2:00.  Needless to say I am a little sleepy today.  It will happen.  I trust that I will do it.  If I could just get over this sickness, it would be easier.  I am down to a cough and runny nose now.  Only a mild sore throat because of the stuffy nose.  This is a vast improvement compared to what I was like before Christmas.  Probably because I have actually had time to rest.  I am so sick of being sick it is ridiculous!

We had a wonderful New Year’s celebration.  Jeff and I went to Kincaid’s which is a fancy restaurant in our neighborhood.  We were home by 7:30 to let the babysitter go out and party.  The kids all stayed up until Midnight.  I napped, woke up for ice cream at 9:30, napped and woke up at 11:30 and turned on New Years Rockin’ Eve.  We listened to The Back-Street Boys and New Kids on the Block and some other people who I don’t know.  And yelled to Jeff to wake up so we could all do the count down together.  In the morning we watched the Rose Bowl Parade, played games, and stayed in our pajamas.  Jeff and the kids went skating in the back yard, and I made spaghetti and meatballs for dinner, and party mix for snacks.  When they came in, Jeff made a fire in the fireplace and we watched the outdoor hockey game that was on TV.  After dinner we made s’mores for dessert, roasting marshmallows over the fire.

Did you do anything special?  What are your traditions to bring in the New Year?

6 Comments
  1. January 4, 2011 3:08 am

    Hey! It’s snowing on your blog! Hee! We had snow overnight. Our New Year traditions including having friends over for a huge feasty dinner cooked by Anders (or alternatively, being hosted by them), and shooting off rockets/firecrackers with champagne/cider in hand outside at midnight and watching the rest of the village’s fireworks as well. New Year’s Day always includes a big American pancake brunch :)

    • January 4, 2011 10:45 am

      Your celebration sounds lovely! I love the shooting off of the fireworks at midnight. How fun! I didn’t realize that pancake brunches were so “American.” Interesting! I thought they were more like “required.” Hope you don’t have too much work at work now that you’re back! xo

  2. January 5, 2011 10:49 pm

    I like the napping before midnight plan for New Year’s! We were silly and did not think about napping. First, we were too busy hiding in closets from tornados, and then we had tons of yummy food (made by my amazing husband) and champagne to drink. We also watched a movie (Easy A) and the boys made relentless fun of it. (Really wasn’t a very good movie, even though Emma Stone is a total cutie pie.)

    I cannot imagine having all day long to get things done – sometimes I pay extra to have Thomas stay until 2 at his playschool, and that feels so lovely. I also start to miss him by then, too, but that’s beside the point. I know one day my days will be totally different. I don’t want to wish away today, especially as I like the little kid stage, even if my own little kid has been driving me bananas lately.

    Enjoy these last days before school starts again (for you)! And yes, please feel better. Rest is good for you!

    • January 6, 2011 5:19 pm

      Oh, Sam… You know how I feel about TORNADOES! I am so glad you were not blown away! We watched a movie last year, but this year, I checked out. I was so tired.

      Today, I stayed in my pajamas all day taking down the Christmas Tree, which is not done yet. Which I am crabby about. I am done, but the job isn’t! It is great that the kids were at school, because it wouldn’t even be close to done (like I am now) otherwise! I thought it would just take the morning, but it took significantly longer than that. I was counting on a nap this afternoon, but that didn’t happen!

      Tomorrow: Work!

  3. January 10, 2011 5:14 am

    We haven’t done the same thing for New Year’s Eve two years EVER, so there’s not much on the tradition front, but we had a delightful evening regardless. We stayed home, invited another family over to share a big pot of soup (though we mostly filled up on appetizers… how is one supposed to practice moderation in the face of potato skins, I ask you?), and toasted to the new year on our balcony surrounded by a panorama of fireworks. We have a breathtaking view here, and there were fireworks coming from so many directions that they were impossible to count.

    I love how you so casually include “ice skating in the backyard.” I simply cannot comprehend. It sounds so awesome; I hope you get out there with them sometime!

    • January 10, 2011 7:39 am

      I can picture all of the fireworks in my mind and I am jealous. I am jealous of the balcony too, and, of course, the whole living in Italy thing… Your night sounds so festive. I love eating the appetizers for the dinner instead of the dinner. I am a junk food junkie at heart.

      As for the ice skating, I like to skate, but I only have hockey skates. I lost my brain when I was newly in love and thought, “How great is that! Hockey Skates to impress the Hockey Player!” Ummm. I really don’t skate well at all with them, although now it might be that I just don’t skate well because I can’t remember the last time I skated with regular figure skates. I am old after all. So, long story short, it’s not really my thing. I love it when Jeff takes them out and I have the whole (QUIET!) house to myself for 45 minutes. Not to mention they come in TIRED. Two birds, one stone. :)

Comments are closed.

