Skip to content

Snapshots from the week

January 23, 2011

This week zoomed by with a hustle and bustle reminiscent of December.  There are snapshots here of words and pictures, because I really need to keep my camera on my person at all times, yet I don’t.

MONDAY:

Martin Luther King Day.  No school.  Katie had a birthday party at the Mall of America, which is clear across town.  On our way home, we were driving through a neighborhood known in my household as “the secret path” and came across two turkeys in the middle of the road.  I slowed down, both so I didn’t hit the turkeys and so we could admire them–they were so close!  Instead of moving to the side of the road, they ran straight for my front bumper.  I stopped the car, and they continued circling my car (literally!) for 15 minutes.  They weren’t doing their scary gobble that use to make me jump when I was running.  They were kind of cooing.  Sarah and Nicholas and I were fascinated.  Finally, I thought it was time to keep driving.  So, I waited until they were on the driver’s side of the car where I could see them, and began to slowly pull away.  They dove at my tires!  So, I had to stop and watch them circle the car again.  We tried again, and again.  I told Sarah to tell me when they were behind the car and then I accelerated.  They began chasing the car!  It was the strangest thing ever.  Turkeys.  Huh.

TUESDAY:

My long day.  I had a bad lesson in the morning.  I accidentally let my night class out AN HOUR early.  I thought it was right on time…oops.  Let’s just forget about Tuesday, shall we?

WEDNESDAY:

On our way to dance, we were on top of the hill that we go down from our neighborhood.  We looked out and saw the full moon that was just rising.  The size, itself, was awesome (and not the valley girl totally awesome kind of awesome, but the one that means you are filled with awe…) but this moon, it was a soft butter yellow glowing on the edge of the horizon.  I wanted to stop and stare, but I was in the middle of traffic.  It disappeared when we descended down the hill, but we kept looking for it.  We saw it rising steadily getting smaller every second.  But that first glance, it was magic.

THURSDAY:

I made a decision to pick up my crochet needle.  I haven’t done any kind of knitting or crocheting since this summer.  I have missed it, but I have not had time.  I decided to make some time this weekend.  It made me happy.

One of our most favorite baby sitters came for dinner.  She is going back to school today.  She asked me to make her favorite:  chicken piccata, mashed potatoes, and glazed carrots.  We also served an artichoke and guacamole, and Jeff brought home some yummy bread from Turtle Bread Company.  She came over before the kids got home from school so we could talk in peace.  As we were talking, our neighborhood resident, The Fantastic Mr. Fox came trotting down our street.  We rushed to the window and I opened the front door to get a better view.  He stopped.  He put down what was in his mouth (His dinner.  One that hops, and eats our garden…) seemed to nod his head at us before he picked up his floppy dinner and trotted away.  He also trotted through our back yard yesterday, but I was not home to witness it.

FRIDAY:

I worked all morning.  I created the online grade book for my everyday class, and printed out a grade sheet for each of my students.  MANY are already failing.  But, I am sure they will turn it around.  Soon.  I hope.  I am determined to make them pay attention to their grades so there are no surprises when the end of the semester comes around.  No scrambling around trying to pass at the last-minute.  I also led a girl scout meeting.  The girls wanted to put on plays, so I googled “reader’s theater” and found some good scripts from some fun books.  I was impressed with their plays.  They all brought in props and costumes.  They had a blast and I got to sit and watch.  Bliss. We ended the night watching part of American Idle as a family.  I think I am going to like Steven Tyler being a judge, but I am going to miss Simon for sure.

SATURDAY:

A fun-filled day of running from activity to activity.  I got a good night sleep for the first time in I don’t know how long.  People were actually quiet and I slept until 8:00!  Who says miracles don’t happen.  Dance practice for the Winter Show at 9:30.  Get a birthday present right after, come home wrap gift, get changed and go to the birthday party at a roller rink.  Tie a bunch of skates, go home.  Eat lunch, crochet :) for a little bit, get ready to go to the hockey game.  Nicholas played a game in between periods of the high school game.  Come home, and Sarah was dropped off.   My friend (Hi LeaAnna!) came in with her two girls and stayed so all three of us girls got to have an impromptu play-date, while Nicholas and Jeff skated out in the back yard and then high-tailed it to hockey practice.  It was a great evening for all of us.

TODAY:

I am still in my pajamas.  You know that I love that.  Jeff is helping Nicholas put together some Lego thing that he got from Santa.

Last night I finished my book, Linger, finally.  The last 40 pages took me two weeks, because of that little inconvenience called “work.”  The bummer?  I think there will be another book, nothing was resolved.  In fact, there are more questions now than there were before.  Since this book was published in 2010, I think it may be a while before the next book comes out.  I have a LOT of work to do today, especially because I have been working on extra-curricular activities all weekend. I need to correct all the papers from last Tuesday, and create a grade book for that class, and print out a grade sheet for them.  And, I need to do my lesson plans.  I have a hockey game this afternoon, Nicholas plays my Alma Mater.  I am not sure who to cheer for.  I also have to plan a dinner.  I don’t really want to do that at all.  I am out of creative ideas for food, and I am sick of cooking.

Any good points from the week you would like to share?

6 Comments
  1. January 23, 2011 3:25 pm

    Sounds like a pretty good week all around, even with all the busy! And we saw that VERY SAME moon! How cool is that?!

    • January 28, 2011 9:08 am

      YOU DID?! That is so cool! Wasn’t it beautiful? I still regret that I couldn’t get a picture of it.

  2. January 24, 2011 11:02 am

    I love that picture of the snow and fence. Beautiful! And what is that yummy looking thing you are crocheting?!

    • January 28, 2011 9:11 am

      I am (still) crocheting an afghan for my living room. I made one when we first moved into this house, but somehow it has relocated itself onto our bed. I had a lot of yarn left over so I started another one almost right after the first one was done. Then I ran out of yarn. We still used the unfinished afghan, and I would periodically stitch it back up when it became unraveled. So, now I decided to finish it once and for all. :)

  3. January 31, 2011 7:57 am

    I’ve been hating cooking lately too. Maybe it’s something in the weather making me want to snuggle up to a cozy meal that SOMEONE ELSE makes for me. My advice for your dinner? Skip the creativity and just make easy favorites. Or order KFC. :)

    • February 1, 2011 11:26 pm

      Unfortunately, we have been skipping the creativity a lot. And, as it turns out, the nutrients as well. I actually made a real dinner on Sunday night and it was a boring dinner that I make too often, but it tasted like heaven. It has been that long since we had “good” food.

Comments are closed.

