Skip to content

Beginning the day

March 25, 2011

Well.  I have been away (again) for a long time, and I am not yet caught up on all of the blog reading that I have neglected.  I will get there!  I promise!  Just so you know, I should be either (a) cleaning up my messy house or (b) taking a shower.  Instead, I am (c) writing a post that “should” not be on my list at all because of those deadlines that keep flying right at the center of my forehead.  What a rebel, huh?

I just had to come back.  I have missed all of you so much.  When I am not showing up at this page I miss the writing part, sure.  For me, when I write regularly, I begin to view the life around me differently.  I notice more, I pay attention.  But even more than the writing, I miss the interaction with all of you.  It is a weird relationship.  It isn’t like I can call you up on my cell when I am driving my kids hither and tither.  If I don’t come around here I miss out on whole chunks of YOUR LIVES.  So when I come back and read that some of you needed extra love and I was absent, well I just plain feel bad.

When I last wrote about all that makes me happy, I had this great intention of doing a mini Nablopo-spring-break-week.  Why couldn’t I?  I had spring break and my kids were still in school… it seemed perfect!  Until I told myself that this was the perfect week to get all of my school stuff in order.  File!  Read things! Plan! Get caught up on grading!  Organize!  I thought I could do both!  Really!  Then I put teeth into this work thing.  If I got everything done, I could get a massage.  Whoa.  I better buckle down, I thought.  And I worked like a mad woman.  I filed and organized everything, even the big pile of crap from last semester that I have pretended wasn’t there.  I went to office max and bought files and plastic bins.  Oh, and LABELS.  I got up and worked and then worked into the night.  I am sure my husband thought (wrongly) that the laundry would be done.  Well.   If not done, at least attempted.  NO.  Try not touched.  All I did for my spring break was work obsessively.

So, now you are wondering how my massage was?  Sadly, there wasn’t one.  I didn’t get everything done.  I got a lot done, I was more caught up than I have ever been.  It ROCKED.  But, alas, I was still working on Sunday night before I went back until the wee hours.

As Sam always reminds me, writing is a habit.  And NOT writing is a habit as well.  Unfortunately, I got in the habit of not going into any blogging anything.  Once you do that, then you’re behind.  As the number of posts grew in my RSS feed, it became overwhelming.  I knew that I needed to read a lot of posts which would take a lot of time.  I knew I liked feeling like I kind of knew what I was doing at work.  It was a vicious circle.

Then I woke up last week thinking about my friend Nichole, who died.  I needed to write.  So I broke the cycle of non-blogginess.  I have been trying to catch up ever since.

So…I am back!  And I will catch up soon (I hope).  Hope you are all doing well.  Do you have anything to tell me?

The day has begun here, and although it is winter-like weather the sun is shining strong and clear.  That brings a smile to my face!

Now I am off to serve lunch to all the kids in my children’s elementary school…  Hope your day is bright and shiny too!

xo!

5 Comments
  1. March 26, 2011 3:02 am

    Yay you’re back! You know, this is how blogging is. Real life just demands our attention sometimes. I just went a whole week without even feeling the urge to write: too busy with Anders gone and so much going on. Then I sat down and out a post came! Now to get to the shower part. :P

  2. March 26, 2011 8:04 am

    Oh I hear you Meg! The part about the writing: the noticing more, the paying attention…and also the interaction. I miss that big time when I neglect my blog, show up only sporadically, posting a couple of lines. It is a weird relationship–and yet it’s such an important one. We get to see these snippets of each other that are made real by our own realizing. We write/paint/photograph to understand how we feel–and in sharing this process get another dimension: feedback, sharing, community. It’s pretty awesome actually… and your words (on my blog) always make my day… just as your words (here) always ring absolutely true. When is your break over?
    xo,
    Christina

  3. March 26, 2011 9:45 am

    I love that I remind you to write…maybe I should schedule a conference call with myself?

    You sound like you got a lot done over your spring break…but promise me you will take a break soon and relax!

    Your post about your friend really haunted me. It breaks my heart to know that a mother was so cruelly taken from her family…it really had an impact on me. I’ve been wanting to write a letter to Thomas, just in case something happened to me – so I finally did it. I am not one who thinks about death (especially my own) very often and it was heart-wrenching, but I’m glad I wrote it. Still – ugh.

    And don’t feel like you have to catch up – just jumping back in and hearing what’s going on with you is enough!

  4. March 27, 2011 10:05 pm

    Hi there! I’ve been away too. Writing but not posting, and your post and responses to it remind me again how much I want to be sharing. There is something powerful about putting words out there on this page called a blog. The connections it engenders, the share meaning it opens up where before we were alone. Glad to hear from you again, and to be back too!

  5. March 31, 2011 6:34 am

    It IS hard catching up! I’ve been trying ever since NaNoWriMo, and my reader is still at 369. Overwhelming. I’m glad you’ve stopped back in though, if only to say hello! The blogosphere just isn’t the same without you. :)

Comments are closed.

