Skip to content

All good things

April 14, 2011

Today I am slap happy.

Chatty.

Procrastinate-y

I love that there is a smile on my face and a spring in my step.

I am thankful for so much.

It is cloudy and cold.  I am exhausted.  But, that doesn’t even matter.  I gave a test that was MUCH too long today, and I decided to collect it and give it back to them on Monday to finish.   Not my first choice, but they were relieved.  And so am I–that means I don’t have to correct it this weekend!!  YES!  I wore jeans and a casual sweater to school today along with my doc martins.  NORMAL wear.  It was awesome!  Nobody gave me any sly glances at all…again awesome!  After my class, I chatted for a long time with one of my wonderful students, about her project and about her life and her path and about where she is headed.  I love that part of my job.  I am honored to be included in these important thought processes that my students are muddling through.  When I got back to my office for my office hour…I did barely any work.  Instead, I chatted with my colleagues who are now becoming my friends.  We talked shop but we also talked life.  And laughed.  It was fun.  All we needed was some snacks and drinks, and it could have been a party!  On the way home I slid a Bon Jovi CD in and turned it up really loud and sang all the way.  I also began thinking about some old friends.  I emailed one who I haven’t heard from in quite a while.  It is funny, how just thinking of this person can bring tears to my eyes.  I will be checking my email obsessively to see if I get a response.

Now I am in my house all by myself.  I can eat lunch and take a nap.  I can begin the long task of catching up on work.  I can clean up the sporadic messes that litter my house.  I can watch bad TV.  I can read essays to choose for next semester.  I can do whatever I want!

The rain is coming down now.  Little sprinkles polka-dotting  the street.

I wish I could host a gathering of all of you so we could laugh and share stories too.

Any good things you have to share?

4 Comments
  1. April 15, 2011 3:05 pm

    O! How that last sentence makes me HOPE someday it will come true! :) Wouldn’t that be FUN??? Getting to do whatever you want is the best thing EVER. It should happen more often. In fact, I bet it will :) :) :)

    • April 24, 2011 10:59 pm

      I have HOPE that it will happen too! xoxo

  2. April 17, 2011 2:03 pm

    That picture is gorgeous!!

    I *love* reading about your conversations with students, colleagues. Those conversations with students, listening to where they are in their lives, being part of how they move forward – I absolutely love it too.

    Good things? I babysat for both my friends with kids who live nearby this weekend. It took me back to high school (cannot believe people really left me in charge of their children, I mean, I was super responsible for my age, but I was 14!). It was really fun to be an honorary auntie complete with babysitting duties.

    Another good thing: I’m working on a quilt (for one of these little girls). Ahhh is it ever good to be getting creative with fabric rather than academic theory!

    • April 24, 2011 11:05 pm

      You need to post pictures of your quilt! I would love to see it! I totally understand that need to do something else, and use a different part of your brain. Good for you!

      I used to babysit, but I really never liked it. I like the classroom setting so much better. I know. I am a control FREAK. But man, fighting with other people’s kids about bedtime… You, however, seem like a natural, based on the pictures you have taken of the children in your life. I am so glad you enjoyed it. And if you are EVER in Minnesota, I have three kids who would love YOU.

      Thank you for the note of cheer about sharing my job here. It consumes me right now, and I am sure it is so B-O-R-I-N-G for most people. So now, I will dedicate that part to you!

Comments are closed.

