Skip to content

An Artful Day

July 2, 2011

I thought I would begin by sharing some of Mother Nature’s work from last night.  We had a hot and humid day.  Sunshine so bright it hurt your eyes.  And then around dinner-time, it rained.  The sky was dark and it looked like we would be lost in a storm for the rest of the night.  But after a short rain and some minor rumbling, the sun came out as it set.  The light was tangible.  There is no way I could capture it with my lack of photography skills, but I still tried.

So, taking the inspiration from the master herself, (and it may have had a wee bit to do with the reading of Laini’s blog…)  we decided to visit Simply Jane.  Simply Jane is a drop in painting studio for families, or anyone who wants to paint.  I read all about it this winter, and wanted to go, but alas…work.  Too much to do.  But today…perfect for painting.  Since Sarah was in Iowa, it was just the four of us.  I didn’t bring my camera to the studio, but I wish I would have.  It was so cute!  We all sat at the same table and picked out our own projects.  Jeff and I went for the blank canvas boards, while Katie painted the frame to a mirror and Nicholas picked a fierce dragon.

Here is Jeff’s finished 5×5 ( I think) canvas board.  Before we left, he went out to the garden and took some pictures with his iphone.  The boy can paint can’t he?  I told him he needed to do three more so I have a group of them to hang on the wall.  Man, I love that he is an artist at heart.

Here is Katie’s mirror.  The black lines were drawn for her.  But she chose the colors, and then went back over with a sharpie when she was done painting.  She also shellacked her finished product so it wouldn’t chip.  I believe this is a wooden piece.

And this is the fierce dragon that Nicholas designed.  It is probably 5×12.  Again, the black lines were drawn in for him.  Both Katie and Nicholas chose the ones that had lines, I let them choose what they wanted that was $20 or less.  Jeff and I, of course didn’t have lines.

My painting is unfinished.  Everyone else was done, and I wasn’t even close.  I asked if I could bring it back with me the next time to finish.  I have wanted to make something to decorate my office at school.  My gray dull cubicle.  I also wanted it to include some inspiring quotes about reading and learning.  Of course, I couldn’t remember all of the quotes while I was there, but I googled one on Jeff’s phone.  I will bring more next time.  Here is my work-in-progress:

I have a whole lot left to do, and I don’t think I have painted anything since 7th grade.  But it was REALLY fun!  I can’t wait to bring Sarah, she will love it.  I also can’t wait to go back and work on this some more!  This may be the beginning of some new play things for me.

How was your Saturday?

2 Comments
  1. July 3, 2011 3:09 am

    WOW! What a great idea! You are all super artists :) I wish we had a place like that here. I think we’d have to do it ourselves, though :)

    • July 3, 2011 7:32 pm

      Jeff and I talked about how to do it ourselves…but they use fast drying acrylic paint. They have a bazillian brushes and the same amount of colors. It would probably be even more expensive to get all of the supplies! I bought a membership, so we can go back there and only pay for the projects. Some of which are $5. I will be limiting them the next time we go for sure!

Comments are closed.

