Skip to content

A quick recap before the fireworks

July 3, 2011

Ooops...where is the bacon??? Mmmmm.

An excellent day today of relaxation.

I slept in because Jeff went fishing.  I have been getting up at 5 or 6 every morning to go on my walk/run and it felt so good to sleep in.  I am already to the point where I will be walking and running equal times starting tomorrow.  I always kind of dread that.  Then, the next week, I will be running more than walking.  Yuck.  It isn’t one of my favorite things, but I am doing it anyway.  Mind over matter.  (And, hopefully, some of the matter will go away.)

I skimmed the paper this morning, and noted that all of the politicians are still blaming each other and acting like children.  There wasn’t anything striking about that.  I made my self an egg with toast and my lovely husband made  me a piece of bacon.  The bacon was from the Farmer’s Market.  It was the best bacon ever.  Then I did a bit of work:  sent Evites to my colleagues for  a baby shower that I am hosting, emailed a few people who I have been neglecting… you know.  Then….I went to get my best friend’s dogs.  We will have them until Tuesday.  They are Franklin’s sisters.

After that I read.  I read, and read, and read.  Katie and Nicholas were outside playing in the blow-up pool.  Jeff went to meet my sister half-way between Iowa and here to get Sarah.  She didn’t want to be gone for the fourth of July celebration.  It was quiet.  The dogs napped.  I am still fascinated by The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.  In fact, I need to get back to it!

Tonight our city has their big Fireworks celebration.  We will walk up to our neighborhood park to watch.  Tomorrow will be crazy with lunch at Jeff’s parents, the parade, dinner with my parents, and then more fireworks.  I am kind of dreading it.  Especially because today was so blissfully calm.  I need to make potato salad and cut up fruit in the morning for our lunch.  So I will be running all day.  The kids LOVE the busy-crazy-fun-filled-day.  I need to borrow some of their enthusiasm.  I hope we get good seats at the parade and I also hope that the parade doesn’t exceed an hour and a half.  Some years it goes on FOREVER.  And, we are gearing up for  an election…in 18 months…so I my hope might be dashed.

Today in the car I was listening to NPR, “Being,” which was formerly “Speaking of Faith.”  I only heard the last 10 minutes or so, but it was so powerful.  Did anyone else hear it?  I need to go back and listen to the whole thing.  It is here if you are interested.  I haven’t listened yet, and I am not sure if I am going to have time today.  Let me know what you think if you decide to play along.

Time to get ready to walk to the park.  Hope your day was as amazing as mine!

UPDATED TO ADD:  The link to “Being” was incorrect.  I have corrected it!

6 Comments
  1. July 4, 2011 11:48 am

    You EATED the bacon! :D

  2. July 5, 2011 8:06 am

    A friend just lent me “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” and I am SO excited. She said it was amazing. It sounds oh so interesting and also a bit of a stretch from my usual reading choices.

    Our 4th was pretty simple and quiet – we were at home at my parents for the first part of the day. It was SO HOT outside. On our drive home we hit some crazy rain and HAIL. You would not have been a fan, as it was all accompanied by thunder and lightning, too!

    • July 5, 2011 10:41 am

      Well, now you have TWO books to get back to me about! Have you done The Girl Who Fell From the Sky yet? Henrietta is definitely a stretch for me, but it is so well written that I don’t really notice. The only thing I had to do was start writing out the family tree so I could keep track of who was who.

      We had a VERY HOT day yesterday as well. I showered after the parade and then felt like I needed another one before bed. I was too lazy, and still feel stinky! You are right about the storm…me no like! Especially hail while you are DRIVING…*heartbeat speeding up just thinking about it*!

  3. July 5, 2011 4:41 pm

    You’re right…I have TWO I need to report on! Get ready to wait, since I just started the 3rd ginormous George R.R. Martin tome in the Game of Thrones series.

    Thank goodness I was not driving, but Beaux was. He was super steady and confident. There were tons of people who pulled over to the side of the road, but oh ho, not us! Thomas was in his car seat, with one eye closed and one open! It was so funny.

    • July 6, 2011 1:19 pm

      But what if I can’t wait for you to read what I am reading? I guess you just have to read FAST~

Comments are closed.

