Skip to content

Peer Pressure is ALIVE

November 1, 2011

 

It is 11:43 PM.  I have finished correcting the tests that I must hand back tomorrow.  I have gathered the books that I will share at my guest lecture at 8:00 AM tomorrow.  I came to the computer to (1) print out another page for my gradebook and (2) print out my lesson plan that I used for my parent class on beginning readers.  I have a HUGE stack of grading that I really want to get done tonight, so I can hand it back tomorrow.  At least three hours worth.  And I have to be up by 6:00 tomorrow morning to be at school at 7:00.

Why am I here?  Because Liz made me come.  She has decided to blog every day in November.  Then she PULLED OUT A GUN and is forcing me to do the same.  This is on the heels of Christina trying to force me to be CREATIVE for FIFTEEN WHOLE MINUTES everyday.  Geez.

I would be lying if I said that I have not had ANY free time since I blogged last.  But I have not come here, I have napped.  I have watched TV and vegged out.  I have done a bit of painting with my kids.  I have tried my hardest to stay up to date with my blog reading/commenting.  But, mostly, I have tried to stay caught up at work.  Halloween put a damper on my motivation.  I had to attend to my own kids for a bit.

We had a great Halloween, that followed all of our traditions:  Pumpkin Bread for breakfast…YUM.  I went to the school parade to see all of the kid’s costumes, which I love.  Jack-o-Lantern pizza for dinner, then TRICK-OR-TREATING.  I love that!

I was talking to one of my colleagues today as we were walking in to school about Halloween.  It is really the last “community” holiday that lives on.  We visit all of our neighbors, and our neighbors visit us as well.  There are unwritten rules that are passed down from generation to generation:  if the light isn’t on, we leave that house alone.  Look for the Jack-o-lanterns, they are your invitations!  The candy is great, but I think it is just in the background.  It is the dressing up, and visiting that is the fun of it.  At night, when it is a little spooky, the cool autumn air giving you goose bumps.  It is just really wonderful.  I am so glad that our over-commercialized culture hasn’t totally ruined this holiday, for our neighborhood at least.  It is sort of going into the past to be out there ringing the doorbells and hearing echoes of “TRICK-OR-TREAT!!”

What do you think?  Is this your experience with Halloween?

Oh, and if I have to do this, so do you.  Start today even if it is a day late now.  I began this post on November first so it still counts, right?

6 Comments
  1. November 2, 2011 1:51 am

    Love your comments about the community of Halloween, and I’m looking forward to reading you every day in November.

    • November 2, 2011 3:48 pm

      Are you playing along? No PRESSURE or anything! :)

  2. November 2, 2011 5:25 am

    Love your thoughts on Halloween! It is so true and sadly it is maybe the only time I see and chat with some of the neighbors.

    GNR????!!! I was supposed to go to that concert too. My cousin and I were back and forth on going….maybe you will see us there!

  3. November 2, 2011 3:51 pm

    Okay, what are you talking about GNR? I HAVE attended their concert in the past, which was LONG. They didn’t come on stage until almost midnight. Is Axel Rose touring with them this year? That is a deal breaker for us, no Axel, no go. But seriously, where in that post did I mention Guns and Roses?

  4. November 4, 2011 3:36 pm

    LMAO…..when I commented I SWEAR there was a thing for GNR on your blog. Then again, I was sick with the flu and I could have been seeing things.

    • November 4, 2011 5:22 pm

      You must have had some good drugs going there!

Comments are closed.

