Skip to content

Chasing Passion

November 2, 2011

Crap.  Today is my sister-in-law’s birthday.  Guess who is behind on sending the card….ME.  Another thing on the list!

I did not correct my big stack of homework last night.  Instead I prepared for my Guest Lecture in a Children’s Literature class.  It was lovely leaving my house while it was still dark outside.  Leaving the crabby, tired children to their father.  The campus was quiet.  I got a great parking spot.  It was peaceful.  I made my copies and looked over my notes and tried not to feel nervous.

It was SO FUN.  It was so great to talk about what I am truly passionate about:  Emergent Literacy.  The students were attentive and asked a few questions, but they were much quieter than my students.  I rambled on and (of course) ran right out of time before I had a chance to show them the books that I had brought with me.  The heavy books….  But that didn’t even matter.  I had a great time!  It really did make me miss teaching kindergarten.  I love my job now, but there is something about getting to teach it first.  Virgin readers are the best.  You get to see all of the light bulbs going off in their wee little brains, and the excitement is contagious.  Fifty minutes was definitely not long enough.  Wouldn’t it be great if *someday* I could teach teachers how to teach reading?  That is a college course, right?  That would be a BLAST.  I think I would still miss those kindergartners though.

So, I was up until 2:30, and I got up at 6.  I am a little worn out.  Sleepy.  Lethargic.  I got home from work and got right into my pajama pants.  I feel cozy and want to take a nap.  Too bad three rambunctious children will be home in NINE MINUTES.

What is your passion?  Do you find that you are feeding it in your job?  Do you feed it in your hobbies?  Do you ignore it?  I can’t wait to hear all about it!

***The pictures of my babies and books…Sarah reading to her dolls (top), Katie stacking her favorites (middle), and Nicholas pointing at you (bottom) .**

6 Comments
  1. November 2, 2011 8:30 pm

    Isn’t it amazing how we don’t mind being exhausted when we’re feeding our passions and being energized by that? Thanks for asking the question that has got me refocusing. The Mommy vs Kid balance is so challenging sometimes.

    • November 3, 2011 11:13 pm

      Oh, it is. Constantly a challenge. And sometimes there is just nothing you can do to help it. Being a parent is an ALL time job. There is beauty when all the stars align and you can get away from it for a little while, then it is amazing when you go back, you actually enjoy your kids again!

  2. November 3, 2011 3:36 pm

    I have a friend who teaches teachers how to teach. She loves her job. I don’t think she specifically teaches them how to teach reading, but still :)

    Your kids were and are adorable!

    • November 3, 2011 11:15 pm

      Thank you. Looking at those pictures makes my heart so full. I really don’t want to have those little kids back, they were so. much. work. But, oh, they were squishy and cute too.

  3. November 12, 2011 8:23 pm

    Teaching teachers how to teach reading – that is definitely a college class, and you would be amazing to teach it, with all that passion!

    I really really want my next job to feed my passions. Just need to get past this thesis and I can start figuring out what it will be!

    • November 19, 2011 2:12 pm

      Figuring it out is the biggest hurdle, I think. I still don’t really know if I have it all figured out. It just seems like what I would be good at. I am sure I could be good at the job I have as well, it just takes time to figure it all out and learn everything, to become an expert. I just wish there were staff development opportunities that would help me become that expert!

Comments are closed.

