Skip to content

Crabby.

November 3, 2011

I almost forgot I had to post today!  So, here I am just under the wire.

Today was a pretty good day.  I got enough sleep last night, which really helped.  And it also wasn’t a choice.  My body just sort of shut down.  I feel asleep during Modern Family.  Who does that?  It was all good, because I woke up feeling so much better.  But the aftermath of walking around like a zombie was waiting for me.  My kids were getting ready at the same time that I was, and Katie was about to get into the shower when Sarah yelled up stairs, “Katie!  Katie!  Do you want pumpkin bread for lunch today?!”  And I asked Katie why Sarah was asking her that.  “Because, Mommy.  We have to bring our lunch to school today,” she said.  I had forgotten that, so we had no lunch meat for lunch.  Luckily, I was almost ready for school.  So, I ran to the grocery store before work and the kids got their lunches packed.  I hate it when I forget stuff.  They didn’t really say anything to me about it, but it just makes me feel bad.  Thank goodness I had time to run and get their food and make it right.

School went fine.  My first class paid attention well and participated well, except for the two students who never participate.  We are studying Inference right now, and it can be difficult.  They seem to be understanding the material.

My next class was my noon class.  I think there is just something wacky about noon classes in general.  I can’t really put my finger on why, but they are just wacky.  I did the same activity that I did with my first class, but got hassled because I assigned exercises that had them practice figuring out the meaning of figurative language, and I wasn’t going to collect it.  Whoever said, “So, you mean we did all that work for no reason?” Didn’t really understand what kind of trigger that statement was.  So, I got a bit….crabby.  Sometimes my students are so frustrating.  I understand, and even remember, that everything in college is about points and credit.  But, I remember having a lot of homework that was never turned in for credit.  It was practice, so you could learn the material.  I am sure whoever said that regrets it now.  Because I sort of went off.  Beginning with “I need to talk to you about this…and I am irritated with those of you who are talking when I am talking.  It is rude and I am done.”  I went on to try and explain what my thinking was.  If I would have collected these exercises, most of it would have been wrong.  I would have spent hours correcting, writing in the correct answers, giving feedback, which 90% of them would ignore anyway.  This way, they had an opportunity to talk about their answers.  To puzzle through the hard ones together, and to ask me to help them if they couldn’t figure it out.  Ugh.  I don’t like getting crabby, but I really think that they don’t get it.  They are going to get professors that assign all their homework and don’t collect it.  The grades are based on a mid-term and a final.  I hope I was calm enough outwardly so that they listened and understand what I was trying to say.

In other news, I am tired.  I am going to bed now.  I will spare you on any other boring aspects of my life…  Good Night.

2 Comments
  1. November 4, 2011 8:33 am

    That would be really frustrating, though I honestly don’t remember having to do homework that wasn’t turned in, that wasn’t just reading. I know we did TONS of homework reading, but actual writing or papers or whatever? I would have thought they would be turned in at some point. Maybe I’m just suppressing the trauma? :D

    • November 4, 2011 5:28 pm

      This was part of their reading. In our textbook there are exercises embedded in the reading so you can practice the skills that the textbook is talking about. I am one of the FEW reading professors who EVER collect the exercises. It is expected that if a student needs practice, he or she will use the exercises to practice. I would never leave my desk if I assigned and collected all the exercises. For figurative language it would be a waste to turn them in because they would be all wrong (for the most part) anyway. They are hard examples for students who don’t really understand how to use inference. They take much of what they read literally. That is why I wanted them to DO the exercises so they could feel how hard it was, and that would be a beginning point for discussion in their group. I was expecting that much of the practices would be blank. They don’t have the background knowledge for this. If I just did it in class, they would have never finished it.

Comments are closed.

