Skip to content

Forty-Two.

November 12, 2011

I cannot believe I have been a “blogger” for TWO years.  I know that I am still a rookie compared to most of you, but TWO years seems like a long time to me.  I still feel like a rookie though.  I still have to work at showing up here.  I still have to work at what to write.  I still have to work at EVERYTHING when I think of my blogging life.  I am so grateful to all of you who show up here and leave me a comment.  It makes me feel connected and loved.  I know that is weird, but it does.

So, it is my birthday again.  I think this might go down as the worst birthday EVER.  But let’s start with the good things:

  1. I slept well for the first time in a week last night.  I didn’t wake up and cough for two hours.  I just slept.  Yay!
  2. Facebook friends have been so kind to my non-facebook self.  I hardly ever, ever go on facebook anymore, so I have missed more birthdays than I care to admit.  Yet, all of these wonderful wishes filled my inbox today.  It really made my day.
  3. Yoga was wonderful this morning.  She focused on opening our hips today, which is my strength, so I felt strong, confident and competent.  There are other classes where I feel the opposite, but my hips are already open…(Huh, did that sound as bad as I think?  If so, I am not as slutty as it sounded.)
  4. Nicholas got his haircut.  He had hockey and had to miss his last appointment.  We were ready to use his head as a mop.  Now you can actually see his eyes.
  5. I had a lovely lunch from a mom & pop deli that is by our hair-cut place.  It was yummy.
  6. I got to go out to dinner at my all-time favorite restaurant:  Piazza’s.  When I was little, my parents used to take us to a restaurant downtown Minneapolis called DiNapoli’s.  It was my favorite.  I always went down a large staircase to the bathroom which had a sitting room attached to play when we went there, and their Baked Mostaciolli was delish.  As I grew up, I decided to taste their Manicotti…I fell in love.  When Jeff and I started dating we continued to dine there as many times as I could get him to go.  It also became my birthday restaurant.  When I was in the hospital after the twins were born Jeff drove downtown and picked up manicotti for me and we ate a picnic in my hospital room.  So, when they closed DiNapoli’s several years ago, I was heartbroken.  So much so, I went right up to the owner to tell him how sad I was.  He informed me of his brother’s restaurant in Golden Valley.  We checked it out, and it has the SAME food.  So my birthday dinner lives on!
  7. I got another gift card to the apple store to add to the ones I am saving for a laptop!
  8. I got Godiva chocolates!  YUM!
  9. Sarah made me a very sweet card.

And now for the bad:

  1. Jeff had to work this morning, so no special breakfast, which is our tradition.
  2. Had to go to Dance and to get kids haircuts, and to pick up Nicholas from hockey…run….run….run….
  3. At the hair-cut place, Nicholas was finished, and Katie had her hair washed when the woman who has cut my hair since I was 3 years old says to me, Meg….as she is combing Katie’s hair.  I knew before she said anything else:  LICE.  AAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!!
  4. I spent an ungodly amount of money at Walgreens buying lice crap.
  5. I spent the time in between the non-existent haircut time and picking up Nicholas treating kid’s with NIX, and NIT PICKING.  Not to mention LIVE BUG PICKING.  EWW.
  6. I spent the time in between getting Nicholas, and Jeff getting home treating kid’s hair and NIT PICKING.  All three kids had live bugs, but Katie is the one who is really infested.  Poor kid.  She was so embarrassed and sad.
  7. After dinner I have spent my time doing laundry, making up beds, and ITCHING MY HEAD.  I don’t think I have it, I have had everyone check it, including my gal who cuts our hair.  I am STILL ITCHY.
  8. Tomorrow will be more of the same:  Clean….Clean…..Clean…..Kids shower, Nit Pick….Nit Pick…..Nit Pick.
  9. I still haven’t gotten those damn tests corrected.
  10. I am tired and I want to go to bed, but I need the towels to be ready and hanging up before that can happen.
  11. I am still coughing!!  UGH.
  12. So there.  Next year has to be better!
  13. Nobody sang to me.
  14. I didn’t have cake.  (But it was my choice.)  It was Katie & Nicholas’s cake.

I am so overwhelmed.  And tired.  And did I mention overwhelmed?  Because that is what I am,  Overwhelmed!

8 Comments
  1. lizardek permalink
    November 13, 2011 9:52 am

    OMG — NO ONE should have to deal with lice on their birthday!! YOU POOR THINGS!!!

    I think cake is in order, stat!!

    Also, hug hugs…now I want your phone number so we can call you up and sing happy birthday to you…in Swedish! Ja! Må hon leva uti hundrade år! :)

    • November 19, 2011 2:25 pm

      Thank you. I needed the “you poor things” part. A little sympathy goes a long way! I am not that big of a cake eater. I am more of a chocolate person, so the godiva was divine.

      I would love to hear you sing in Swedish! That would be awesome!

  2. November 15, 2011 7:04 am

    ohhhhh Megsie!!!

    First– TWO. YEARS. Wowza– where does the time fly?? I feel like it was just yesterday and BLAM– TWO. YEARS. Major congratulations— and happiest of belated birthdays

    and lice– omg– WTF? Seriously? Oh honey– I am so so so sorry for the lice. That is awful and disruptive and let’s hope they git gone immediately– sending you so much love and support to get through this.

    xoox, E

    • November 19, 2011 2:28 pm

      Thank you dear, sweet Elizabeth. The time has gone by fast hasn’t it? It goes faster every year. And I totally agree: WTF! I don’t have time for this, but guess what? I have to MAKE time for it. I have two kids clear, and one who is NOT. Ugh.

      Sending love right back atcha!

  3. November 16, 2011 2:56 pm

    A belated happy birthday from me too!! I’m also a Facebook deserter most of the time, and also loved on my last birthday how many people said hello and sent me birthday wishes.

    And I’m SO SORRY about the lice!! It is truly one of those disgusting things that most parents have to deal with at some point. Growing up I don’t think we ever had them, but we did have scabies get infested in our house, thanks to my sister’s transient friend. It was horrendous to get rid of too.

    Sending you hugs and love from SF!

    • November 19, 2011 2:29 pm

      I have heard of scabies, but I don’t know what they are. I am quite certain that I don’t WANT to know what they are as well. It sounds dreadful.

      Thanks for the love, and I am so glad that you are posting more too!

  4. November 16, 2011 2:57 pm

    P.S. I feel like a rookie in the blogging department too…. but like you so enjoy the connections, so let’s keep at it! :)

    • November 19, 2011 2:31 pm

      I will do my best, but I have already blown the whole “write every day” thing. I just don’t have the time right now. But when I do, I will try to choose this before bad TV, and that is saying a lot!

Comments are closed.

