Skip to content

Love. Locks. The beginning of summer.

June 11, 2012

The breeze is so wonderful today.  I love having the windows open, feeling the coolness pass through at random.  The sun is out and the sky is that blue that takes your breath away.  It screams SUMMER!

I have three children out of school as of last Thursday.  They have a mother who is making them clean their rooms out before we do anything fun.  They don’t like that mother very much!  I helped Nicholas with his room because I don’t think he really knows what to do.  He just doesn’t think in an “organization” way.  It is frustrating because he ends up watching me organize his stuff.  Sarah helped him and so did Katie.  He missed going over to the neighbor’s house to play because his room wasn’t done.  I am surprised he will still speak to me.  I need to be better at holding him accountable in this regard, but it is so much work.  He says he has cleaned his room, but really he has just pushed everything under his bed.  I guess I have to have a full room inspection every day.  UGH.  The worst part?  He gets the messy thing from me.  I don’t know why he didn’t get the organization thing as well, but he is definitely double-wammied with this.  He is messy AND lacks organization skills.  Poor kid.

In other kid news, Sarah donated her hair to Locks of Love last week.  She had her hair cut off, and now has a cute new bob!

{The Last Day Of School}

Nicholas had his first Lacrosse tournament this weekend.  It was so hot, and there was NO shade.  He lost his first two games and then won the toilet bowl for the tournament.  It was the first time he has ever played a game, so he was trying to figure it out.  It was also the first time I had ever watched a Lacrosse game, so I was trying to figure it out.  Our new summer schedule will consist of games every night of the week.  Katie’s softball on Mondays and Wednesdays, and Nicholas’ lacrosse Tuesdays and Thursdays.  It is exhausting, but I am happy that they are active kids.  Sarah’s golf doesn’t begin until July.  Then we will really be hopping!

As for me?  Well.  I am still trying to figure out a good plan for my house-hold chores.  I am still not done with my 24-karat solid gold dancer book.  I want to read State of Wonder NOW.  And, I don’t understand why I feel so tired.  But I do.  So.  That is that I guess.  How about for YOU?  What is keeping you busy?

2 Comments
  1. June 15, 2012 3:38 pm

    Such a cute haircut! Tres chic! And hahahaa! it totally cracks me up that tomorrow is the first day of vacation for my kids and guess what’s on the agenda? ROOM CLEANING. Yes.

    • June 18, 2012 9:07 am

      She is really missing her long hair right now. She wants a ponytail! But I think it is cute too. How did your room-cleaning go? I still have not gotten in to Katie’s room. (Nor do I want to!) Thanks again for the post about Summer…YOU are an inspiration!

Comments are closed.

