Skip to content

Three down, One to go

September 7, 2012

I have met three out of four of my classes.  They are all the lower level classes and I like them.  It is amazing how different each class is.

My “every day” class (that meets Mon-Thurs for 50 min.) is familiar.  They get my jokes, and I know most of their names.  Most are engaged and I have two or three of them follow me to my office after every class.  I am so excited that they are willing to work hard.

My first “block” class (meets Mon & Wed for two hours) is my highest class according to the pre-test that I am required to give.  We can move fast.  They are also engaged and motivated.  I missed them on Labor Day, so we are a little behind, but not by much because they get what I am saying and can finish things up quickly.  They are funny and challenge me when I ask their names.  They won’t tell me!  They say:  “Don’t you even want to try first?”  It is awesome.

My second block class (Tues Thurs, 2 hours) is immature.  I had the “I don’t teach high school” talk with them already.  I also have the knowing looks, and the “this is so stupid” attitude.  I was a bit miffed that I had to have the come to Jesus with them already, but I am viewing it as a challenge.  I just need to figure out how to get them engaged.  The people individually are great.  They are funny and easy-going.  But as a group?  Yuck.  I don’t like to have to be strict.  But I will be. The jury is still out, I am thinking it might turn out okay.

Tomorrow I begin my Saturday class.  It is the higher level class.  It is full, which is unusual for a weekend class.  I will only see them 12 times, including the final.  They will get a more abbreviated class than I am used to teaching, and it will be homework heavy for the first four weeks.  I hope they will stick with it, and I hope that they are nice.  I am almost ready for them.

I have a mountain of papers to correct.  I also have laundry left over from last weekend that I need to finish.  And dishes.  And the house is a mess.  And, lastly, I need to plan my next unit!!  Yikes.

What I wish I was doing next week:  Going to Squam.  Some day.  Some day I will get there.  But oh, I wish it was next week.  Elizabeth is a force of light and I so wish we could meet in person, and I really want to kiss her puppies.  If any of you are going, I really hope you post about it so I can pretend that I was there too.

Now, I have a promotion to do.  MY HUSBAND, who has made fun of me having a blog for as long as I have had it, started HIS OWN BLOG.  It is called Hats on the Water.  I am really excited for him.  It is all about fishing, which is (one of) his passion(s).  I really hope you spread the word to all the fishermen you know and have them say hi to him in the comments.  When I started, I already had some friends lined up who I knew would read and comment.  He needs some readers people!  Please HELP!

Tell me something in the comments.  Make me laugh, or sigh.  I don’t care.  Just give me a reason to click on over and read something besides the papers that I need to correct!

Thank YOU!

 

2 Comments
  1. September 9, 2012 11:48 am

    Yay for blogging husbands! Mine did it for about 5 posts and then quit when his bike trip got cancelled. :( I wish he’d start another one.

    Make you sigh: I haven’t posted in WEEKS. Make you smile: I just did! I posted just now! :) A lame one, but there it is.

    • September 12, 2012 7:44 am

      I was so happy to read your words again Liz! And thanks for posting on Jeff’s blog. It made him smile…ME TOO!

Comments are closed.

