Skip to content

A Whole New Year

January 7, 2013

The new year came and went, but it was a glorious New Year’s celebration.  This year, we were fortunate enough that nobody was sick, Jeff and I went out to dinner (early) on New Year’s Eve.  We always go to Kincaid’s which is a fancy expensive restaurant, that is very close to our house.  We drink champagne and savor the lack of children, good food, and celebratory atmosphere.  We are usually home by 8:00.  We went and got our Chinese take-out before heading home.  We did that last year on New Year’s Eve because of the sick-kids-situation.  We usually make many meatballs for our New Year’s dinner, but both of us decided that we needed a new tradition, and I am thrilled that it is a tradition that does not involve cooking.  (I did make the party mix for the hors d’oeuvres, however.)

When we got home, we all put on our new Christmas pajamas and got comfortable.  Now that our kids are old enough to understand much of what they see on television, I am more and more disappointed with what is allowed on TV.  I know I am getting old and crotchety, but geez.  My kids don’t need to see that stuff.  There doesn’t seem to be anything that is appropriate for youngish kids.  What ever happened to FAMILY viewing?!  Bah, humbug!

So, we watched a movie instead of the New Year’s celebrations on the streets of New York.  We watched Dr. Doolittle–which was a hit–and Daddy Daycare (it was an Eddie Murphy night!) which we didn’t finish.  We did turn on the TV to see the ball drop…twice…once at 11:00 and once at midnight.  Then, we all went straight to bed.  We finished Daddy Daycare on New Year’s morning (it was also a hit, in case you are keeping track).  (By the way, New Year’s morning was not put off because of the late bedtime… oh, my, no.)

New Year’s day consisted of pajama’s, junk food, A Field Guide to NOW, a fire in the fireplace, Chinese food, and s’mores for dessert.  It was glorious.

* * * * *

I did check out Susannah Conway’s Unraveling the New Year Ahead workbook this year (again).  Last year I glanced through it and was sick and didn’t have the motivation or the energy to even read through the whole thing.  Many people choose a word to guide them through the New Year, but I never have connected to this specific method in the past.  Of course Elizabeth talked about her word, and it intrigued me.  A noun instead of a verb.  Huh.  So I downloaded the workbook again, and this time I read through the whole thing.   I didn’t take an hour and fill it out like it invited me to do, but I answered the questions in my head.  I think that maybe next year, I will actually PRINT this out and do it full-fledged.  We’ll see.  Long story short?  I picked a word!  I know!  I am shocked too!  I suppose you would like to know what the word is?  Strive…  I have decided that I need to take some action with my life.  I am not going to list the same old resolutions again.  If you would like to see them they are here.  They don’t change.  It is really a list of my weaknesses.  And as I said before, these are probably things I will be working on for the rest of my life.  But this year, I have a job to apply for!  And, I am taking two classes to begin work toward a Post Secondary Reading and Learning Certificate through California State at Fullerton!  I emailed my application to the program this morning, and I am so excited to start!  I can still strive for a super-model’s body, and a perfectly decorated–Architectural Digest-like–home,  and the organization and follow-through-ish-ness to have cocktail parties and dinner parties and just-have-friends-over-for-pizza-parties, but really?  My focus needs to be on following my passion…and that is getting a permanent position and starting on my education in order to be the best damn college instructor there is.  And if not?  At least I tried.  And I know I will still be teaching, so is isn’t for nothing.

* * * * *

So, the New Year unfolds before us.  A blank canvas, or nearly blank.  I have already chosen a few colors and have started with some broad and bold strokes.  The details are yet to unveil themselves.  The sun is out and the sky is bright cerulean.  The great maple in the yard draws shadowy spiderwebs on the illuminated snow.  The ice rink a perfect rectangle of frozen water.  There is beauty here.  Here, at my kitchen table, in the middle of the afternoon.  The quiet enveloping the tapping of the computer keys.  It has been a superb year so far.

 

6 Comments
  1. January 7, 2013 3:47 pm

    What a lovely New Year’s it sounds like you had! We usually have a big American breakfast on New Year’s Day morning, complete with AMERICAN pancakes, but this year Anders and Karin left super early to go skiing up north in Michigan, so we’ll just have to schedule it in later. I am excited about your application and your word and your post. A superb year so far, indeed! Happy New Year, my friend!!

    • January 8, 2013 7:25 am

      Have you ever looked at that workbook? See, I want to get together with YOU and do it. It would be so fun!

  2. January 7, 2013 3:48 pm

    Your blog is making me login to wordpress to post comments. Hrm.

    • January 8, 2013 7:24 am

      This is new? That would bug me too! Thanks for loving me enough to do thinks that are a pain in the ass… :) xoxo

  3. January 17, 2013 2:23 pm

    That last paragraph is such wonderful description!

    • January 18, 2013 9:10 am

      *blush* Thank you Willow. It means so much coming from YOU. xo

Comments are closed.

