Skip to content

The semester begins, so does the rambling

January 15, 2013

I am really going to try not to stop posting just because my job is starting again.  I have no guarantees, just hope.  I am terrible at budgeting my time, but remember I am going to STRIVE to do things differently this year.  One way to do that is to write a “to do” list EVERY DAY.  I am out of the habit, and it helps me so much.  I have written one for today already and “Post” is on it so I am being productive right now!

Yesterday was the first day of the semester.  I got to meet the class that my friend gave to me.  They seem sweet and were engaged for the first day, so I am really excited.  I am also excited because my department has taken on a project that is researching how to find predictors of success in our classes.  My office-mate has sent in a grant for some money so we can try out some non-cognitive assessments to see if they are more predictive than the cognitive assessments that we already give as placement tests.  We pulled numbers last semester and found out that the placement test score does NOT predict who passes our classes.  We all knew that on some level.  Most people who are not passing are not coming to class and not doing the homework.  There are a few students who are just too low functioning to understand the material, but they are the minority.  We are trying to figure out WHAT will predict success and then we will come up with some interventions to help lower the fail-rate and boost retention.  It is incredibly exciting!

At least to me…  sorry.

Moving on…

Last week it was in the 40s (F) here.  The “Frank” (our ice rink) was one big puddle.  My husband was CRABBY.  Then this weekend it was 5.  FIVE.  DEGREES.  Really?  Can’t we just stay around 20 or 25?  Is that too much to ask?  Apparently.  It is still cold out today, but it is climbing toward that magic 20-degree mark.  I am waiting to run my errands until it warms up a little.  The sun is shining and my dog is laying beside me.  Ah.  All is well.

I don’t have to teach until tonight.  My schedule is turning out to be awesome.  I teach on Monday and Wednesday mornings and Tuesday nights.  It was great to send my kids off to school this morning in my pajamas.  And to write a post today, still in my pajamas.  I will probably cross many things off my list in my pajamas today.  Although, I think I need to go to St. Paul to pick up a transcript.  I don’t really want to, but I need it to apply for this j-o-b.  The application is due on Friday.  I have re-done my resume and I have written a cover-letter.  I am out of practice for both, so I sent them off to 6 people to review.  I haven’t heard from most of them.  My friend Anna who sometimes reads this very blog (Hi Anna!) was kind enough to read them.  I was expecting to have to write the cover letter over.  She said as much.  I wrote it from the perspective of why I wanted to teach at my college instead of why the college should want to hire me, what I would bring to the college.

But that is the problem.  I don’t know what I am bringing to the college.  I feel like I am getting way more out of this deal than they are.  I don’t even know where to start with that.  I am going to wait a bit before rewriting in hopes that at least one or two other people reply back to me.  Maybe they will list some suggestions?  So I can use them?  Honestly, why would they hire ME?  I am an elementary teacher swimming way over my head.

Okay.  Enough negative self talk.  I need to figure it out.  That is the yucky task for today.  This turned out to be more of a mind dump than anything.  Any resources on writing a great cover letter will be greatly appreciated.  Or if you just want to write it for me…that would be great!

Hope you are all having a lovely sunny morning!

6 Comments
  1. Lizardek permalink
    January 16, 2013 3:45 pm

    I have faith that you will figure it all out! And that you are striving to post more is just lovely. I am, too…but oops. Just did, anyway. From the FROZEN FREEZING NORTH. Brrrrrr

    • January 18, 2013 9:03 am

      I hope you have warmed up by now. :) I loved your frozen freezing north post. It made me giggle!

  2. Lizardek permalink
    January 16, 2013 3:48 pm

    That was me, Lizardek. Why does WordPress think I am just a (really long, interspersed with letters), NUMBER?

    • January 18, 2013 9:05 am

      Didn’t you know we call you g2-764518c1352cf3e822d5fb36a5b9afcd around here? Huh. Weird. It isn’t even linked, and it is so funny! I hope you don’t feel like this blog is impersonal or anything.

  3. January 17, 2013 11:05 am

    From what I’ve seen of how you teach through your writing here, I think you have TONS to offer your college. If you still haven’t heard back from those who were going to read the letter, I’d be happy to read it. I can be quick since I know the deadline is tomorrow.

    Glad your schedule is shaping up well! Am joining you on the list-making, starting today.

    • January 17, 2013 11:42 am

      Oh, Willow! I would appreciate it so much! I tried to email you, but its delivery failed. I have an email me button on the sidebar, if you wouldn’t mind. I was going to submit it this afternoon. I am going to shower right now. I will check back! Thank you dear friend!

Comments are closed.

