Skip to content

Back at last, but only briefly

April 10, 2013

There has been so much going on here in this life of mine.  So much that I haven’t had a moment to try and untangle it (think spaghetti) for you.  So forgive my bullet-y post, but I literally am going to be doing this in three minute entities today just to get a post up.

Interview:

On Friday morning at 11:00 CDT I will be in an interview for a full time teaching position at my college.  Yes, I AM nervous, why do you ask?  I will have to teach a 10 minute lesson introducing Main Idea in paragraphs.  This is my LEAST favorite thing to teach.  It is also my biggest weakness.  I haven’t had a lot of time to prepare for this interview.  I have planned out my lesson, however.  I think I like it.  I am still not sure if I do or if I don’t.  I won’t know until Friday after the interview.  I would love prayers and good thoughts and whatever positive stuff sent my way if you can spare a moment or two.  I need to stay calm and nonchalant for this interview.  Getting all whipped up is my enemy.  I tend to whip.  Thank you in advance.

Work:

I am behind.  Really behind.  Enough said.

Class:

Right now I am wishing that (1) I only took one class or (2) I didn’t take any classes.  I  am having a very hard time keeping up with the big papers.  The content is still really cool and exciting, but the readings are getting longer and the papers are getting more and more time consuming.  I have taken A LOT of graduate classes.  (Around 53 graduate credits.)  I have never had THIS MUCH homework.  Ever.  I don’t know if it is because it is an online class or what, but goodness.  I don’t have this much time.  There is usually a chapter to read for both classes…which fine.  And then there is a weekly post in a discussion…and then the replies.  Cool.  I can do that.  It is the big papers that cause the problems.  These are in addition to the reading and the posting.  Plus it includes every reading in the module, so I only have a couple of days to complete them.  Posts are due in one class on Thursdays and the other class on Fridays.  Big papers are due on Mondays.  Right now, there is so much going on, I am feeling like I won’t be able to keep up.

Home:

This is the big change.  Jeff’s dad fell in early March.  The doctor did not do X-Rays.  For three weeks Jeff was bringing them meals, I was grocery shopping and we were both cleaning their house for them.  Jeff’s dad is the primary care-giver to Jeff’s mom who is in the advanced stages of Alzheimer’s.  This fall happened right before my spring break, so my spring break consisted of meetings at Jeff’s parent’s house with nurses, social workers, occupational therapists…trying to coordinating his mom’s care.  The doctor had said that Jeff’s dad should be walking in 3-4 days.  Three weeks later, he still couldn’t walk.  Finally he decided to go back to the doctor.  He ordered an emergency MRI and found out that he had broken his hip.  He had to be admitted to the hospital for a hip replacement.  This was the Friday before we were to go to California.  Obviously Jeff didn’t go with us.  He stayed home, his mom moved in with us, and his dad had surgery.  He has been running ragged caring for his parents.  His mom is at a toddler level cognitively.  We are still adjusting to this.  This makes it extremely hard for me to do any work.  At all.

I am feeling overwhelmed.  But we are managing.  This is primarily why I haven’t posted.  I SHOULD be working right now.  Even though I hammered this post out in 10 minutes.  Still:  Guilt.

Gotta go get dinner going.  I have been reading you guys.  It is my reward.  So….KEEP WRITING.  Don’t follow my example!

Sending Love out to you!  xoxo

2 Comments
  1. April 10, 2013 9:40 pm

    Oh sweetie, you DO have huge things going on. Can you take an incomplete in one of your classes due to family emergency? It feels like it might help ease the load a bit. I did that once in my grad program.

    I haven’t been posting much myself. Am just so focused on this deadline of mine. Will meet it, but sheesh, I have SO MUCH MORE TO DO.

    I’ll be thinking about you Friday morning and sending good thoughts your way!

  2. April 11, 2013 4:01 pm

    Oh my goodness, Meg, you have been having a TIME. I’ve been woefully behind in reading blogs (I just now read about your twentieth anniversary, which… there are not enough congratulations in the world), but I think I’m caught up on your crazy world now. You absolutely have my thoughts/prayers/calmhappyvibes for tomorrow’s interview. I’m so impressed that you’re taking classes in addition to teaching them–doing the things that you’re passionate about. You’re one inspiring lady. xo

Comments are closed.

