Skip to content

NEWS

May 9, 2013

Hi there.

I should be reading about Critical Thinking.  (Did you see that “should” there?  It has been following me around all day.)  Instead, I am here.  Finally.

Here is what has been happening since my last stop at the ol’blog:

1.  It snowed and felt like winter for most of the time.  SNOWED.  IN MAY.  SHEESH.

2.  But, yesterday?  I saw a crab-apple tree in BLOOM when I was walking to my car after work.  IN BLOOM!  Most trees are not there yet, but I looked out my window today and my big maple friend that watches over me while I sleep has itty-bitty leaves on the ends of the branches!  AND!  I wore flip-flops and skirts with no tights to work all week!

3.  Speaking of work, I am DONE teaching.  I only have to give a final!  I have a little more correcting left to do and I have to update grades online, but I am obviously NOT WORKING right now.  (See that “should” whispering in my ear?)

4.  I sucked as a teacher this semester.  I am ready for a do-over.  READY.

5.  Also?  I GOT THE JOB!  I am now an Unlimited Full Time Real-Life NOT Fake Anymore Professor!!!!!!!

6.  This means that I am guaranteed full time status and I will be paid accordingly.

7.  This means that I can carry our family’s health insurance and save us a TON of money each month.

8.  This means that I will HAVE MY OWN OFFICE (which trumps everything else)!

9.  This means that my kids will have less of me.  (This makes me sad.)

10.  My mother-in-law moved into a Nursing home on May First.  This broke my heart.  And made me happy.  Bitter mostly, but wow.  I can get my work done ( SHOULD!!) now.

6.  I am on my last leg of my class.  Only one week after this week.  TWO major assignments.  Doable now. (Should be doing them now…)

I will be back with the whole scoop about the J-O-B.  AFTER I get rid of this darn “should”.  Annoying.

How are you?

 

8 Comments
  1. May 9, 2013 9:03 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!! That is so exciting! Prof. Megsie….love it. When are we celebrating?

    • May 19, 2013 1:56 pm

      Thank you! Let me finish off my week this week and then we should set a date. Between softball, baseball and hockey, of course. :)

  2. May 10, 2013 9:16 am

    OMGoodness, congratulations!! Becoming Megsie the PROFESSOR! Woot!

    • May 19, 2013 1:57 pm

      Woot indeed! Thank you for your well wishes! :) So. Happy.

  3. May 12, 2013 9:56 pm

    Congratulations!!! I’m so happy you got the job. It seemed like such a perfect fit for you. Proud to have played a small part in the process with you too!

    I am in the final week of my dissertation. Am going to do it. Working until the very end, but then it will be done. It’s been quite a journey! Then I’ll be rejoining the world of blogging too. Can’t wait.

    Congrats again! That’s really lovely news.

    • May 19, 2013 1:59 pm

      Thank you so much Willow! I REALLY appreciate you looking over my letter of interest and my resume. YOU had a HUGE part in this!

      I am really excited to hear about your dissertation. Can I read it? I would love to!

      I have been checking in on you almost every day to see if you have posted or not, just in case my RSS feed is stopped (it does that sometimes). I am excited to read all about it!

  4. May 19, 2013 1:13 am

    OMG !!!! that is the BEST news ever!!! I am so happy for your. Thrilled. wowza– WOW. I do hope you are taking the entire month of June to celebrate .. . sending you big big big love and congratulations! xoxo, e

    • May 19, 2013 2:01 pm

      Thank you so much Elizabeth! I am over the moon! Can I just say, whenever you show up here, on my little blog it makes me so very, very happy. It is like a perfectly wrapped present every time. xoxo

Comments are closed.

