Skip to content

The Long Story about the J-O-B Part Three

May 31, 2013

Our department is getting our own area on campus so we can all be in close proximity.  The college had a new building built and it was done for spring semester this year.  The business department is moving over there, and as soon as we heard that we put in to get their spot, and we got it.  So, they are re-doing our new area over the summer.  People are moving out of their offices to their new offices, and to temporary offices if they teach this summer.  Everyone is packing.  We got an email with directions of when you needed to be packed and where to label your boxes to go.  On this email it labeled my two friends getting their own offices and I was sharing with a new person.  I felt like this was the sign that I wasn’t getting the job for sure.  Only UFTs get their own offices.  I congratulated my friends the next morning.

The next week I got an email saying to disregard the office placements.  They were just “place-holder names” and nothing was decided about the full-time positions yet.  This email was sent to the three UFTs, my two friends and me.  I didn’t know what to think about that, so I didn’t bring it up.

The week after that, I was working on my computer, and I got an email from my voicemail system telling me I had missed a call from the Dean of my Division.  Then I missed another call from him.  I was looking up his phone number to call him back when my home phone rang.  It was Mr. Dean.  He wanted to know if I could stop into his office.  I asked if there was a problem, and he said there was no problem.  I knew this was it.  I texted Jeff and let him know that my fate would be decided once I got to work.  He texted back:  “May the force be with you.”  I texted him back: “Thanks Obi Wan.”  I was rehearsing all the way to work.  I wanted to sound grateful and calm, not happy though, but not really sad either.  I knew I was going to be let down easy.  My dean is nice.  I kept thinking about asking what I needed to do to get a job next time, but I didn’t want to be too presumptuous.  I thought about going to my office to drop off all of my stuff so I would be empty handed when I went to his office, but I walk by his office when I first come in.  I thought, why?  I am not getting the job already, I am just going to get it over with.

I got to his office and he ushered me in.  I dropped my many bags by the side of his desk and sat down at his table.  It was awkward.  I started by saying something about how happy he must be that all of the interviews are over.  He said he was happy, but he would be even happier if I would accept a UFT position.  I was dumbfounded.  Shocked.  Speechless.  I think I said, “What?”  I know I told him that I didn’t even believe him.  I know I told him that I really, really wasn’t expecting this.  Finally, I said, “Well, can I hug you?”  And he looked relieved that he didn’t have to convince me anymore.  He said many nice things about my teaching and my interview.  He also told me that the chair of my department got the other job, which meant my officemate didn’t get anything.  Even though she has been at my school for 21 years.  He asked me not to tell anyone because she had not been told yet.  I promised that I would keep the secret.  He said I could tell my family though, so I called Jeff after I left his office.  He was in a meeting.  He texted me:  “Did you get the job?”  ME:  “Um, YES!”  JEFF:  “Congrats.  That is awesome.  When can I retire?”  ME:  “It is still a teaching position!  No retiring!”

I also called my friend Anna who teaches English.  I got to be really excited with her and she was so supportive and happy for me.  I couldn’t believe it.  I got the job!

To Be Continued…

2 Comments
  1. June 1, 2013 11:32 am

    WOO HOO!!!

Comments are closed.

