Skip to content

Strawberry Fields Forever

July 3, 2013

This morning I woke my three sleepy children up at 6:15 AM.  Today was the day!  The strawberries were finally ready to be harvested!  This is a late strawberry season.  They were less than happy to get up at such an ungodly hour in the summer.

IMG_0185

Still cute.  We were at the doughnut shop getting breakfast for them.  The adults abstained from the doughnut goodness.  Sad, really.

 

IMG_0186

We always go to the same strawberry field, Lorence’s Berry Farm in Northfield, MN, about 45 minutes south of our house.  It was a good year for strawberries!

 

IMG_0188

Jeff didn’t have to work until 9:00 today, but he went in late so we could go and pick our own strawberries.  And, guess what?  I forgot to take pictures of our bounty!  We picked about 30 pounds.  When we got home, Jeff cut and washed a bunch to freeze for smoothies, and then cut some for some delicious strawberry bread.  (We left the nuts out of the recipe.)  It is a favorite, and we all look forward to it.  I made the batter with help from Nicholas and Katie, while Jeff cleaned and cut.  Perfect Team Work.

Another monumental summer experience that happened today was that we ate dinner outside.  It has been so rainy, that we haven’t ventured out to the patio for a meal.  Sarah suggested it, and even washed off the table out there to make it happen!  It was a perfect night to eat outdoors.  I grilled pork chops with baked potatoes, broccoli and Italian peasant bread.  Yum.  It hit the spot.

Tonight was our city’s Fireworks Display.  We always go to the park by our house instead of going to the summer fete.  We see neighbors and can see the fireworks just fine.  It was cool and the bug spray seemed to work.  A lovely night to kick off Independence Day celebrations.  Tomorrow will be busy.  Entertaining and then going out with my parents for dinner and for more fireworks.  I should go to bed now to rest up!

Any cool Fourth of July plans for anyone else out there?

6 Comments
  1. July 4, 2013 5:09 am

    Mmm, I’m going to have to try that Strawberry Bread recipe!

    No plans for the 4th here… Maybe if we’re in Spain when Basil is older, we’ll get sparklers or invite over our Spanish friends that used to live in the US.

    You have such beautiful children!

    • July 4, 2013 11:02 pm

      Aww. Thanks Willow. They are pretty cute, but I am biased. I highly recommend the strawberry bread. You will not regret it! We haven’t done sparklers yet, but they are on the agenda for a July 5th celebration!

  2. July 4, 2013 3:16 pm

    That music video was disturbing. We did NOTHING today, except I did 3 loads of laundry. And read. And went to bookgroup even though I hadn’t read the book. And almost ran out of gas on the way back. Your kids are so cute!

    • July 4, 2013 11:05 pm

      Now, see? I thought that video was ridiculous! That is why I chose it. It was fascinating in a way. I love do nothing days! But when I do laundry, that is something! What book did you boycott for book group? I am so glad you didn’t run out of gas. I am low right now, as well. I need to plan to get gas before going anywhere tomorrow. (And, as I said to Willow, I am biased, but I do think those kids are pretty cute too. I love Sarah’s crabby face in the first one! So, THANK YOU, it was very sweet to mention.)

  3. July 13, 2013 2:00 pm

    I didn’t actually boycott it, I just couldn’t get ahold of it before we went to England (didn’t want to buy, was trying to borrow it), and then none of the bookstores in England had it…Killing Lincoln by Bill O’Reilly. I love Lincoln, Bill O’Reilly not so much.

    Sarah’s crabby face makes me giggle.

    • July 15, 2013 6:08 am

      My (very conservative) mother loved Killing Lincoln. I haven’t read it either. Did your book club like it?

Comments are closed.

