Skip to content

The perfect summer day

July 6, 2013

The day began by sleeping in.  The garbage trucks woke both Jeff and I up around 6 AM:  Rude.  But I went back to sleep.  I slept through the squeals from children until around 8:00.  That is LATE.

Next was breakfast.  We still had some strawberry bread left over, so the children and I devoured the rest of it.  It was delicious!  We need to make more now, I am getting spoiled.

I am done with my notebook, but the kids are not done with theirs.  I mod-podged with them for quite a while.  They are still not done, but tomorrow they will be!  My living room needs to cease being an artist’s studio.

Jeff kidnapped Nicholas in order to go fishing which lead to my escape…

I am reading such a lovely book right now, and it was calling my name the whole time I was being an artist’s assistant.  I finally swiped it off the kitchen table and snuck out onto the patio.  I sat in the sun and read.  For a long time.  Then I got hungry, and brought my lunch outside so I could continue reading as I was eating my lunch!  It was heavenly!

After lunch, and more reading, it was time for the family water fight.  Everyone had a squirt gun.  I assembled the water balloons.  Chaos ensued.  I was after Nicholas, he was driving me CRAZY all afternoon (couldn’t he see that I was reading?).  I got him good!  It was a fun war.  I didn’t get too wet, but I got wet enough that I had to change.  Once I was dry, I was right back to my most excellent book.

We grilled chicken for dinner and ate on the patio.  It was a beautiful night.  Jeff made virgin strawberry margaritas for he kids and fully loaded strawberry margaritas for us.  They were AWESOME.  And for dessert?  Strawberry shortcake.  It was divine.  I could have eaten more of that, but we ran out of strawberry sauce.  Jeff promised to make more tomorrow.  I can’t wait.

After dinner, I was back to my book.

Oh.  It was perfect.  If only everyday could be like this.

IMG_0202

Cheers!

4 Comments
  1. July 8, 2013 6:57 am

    Your family water fight sounds like so much fun! It’s been years since we had squirt guns in the house…I wonder what happened to them all. We had some big ones. And WHAT BOOK? what book what book what book? I just read Chris Colfer’s The Land of Stories and I bet your kids would like it. And now I’m reading Amy Hempel’s short story collection: The Dog of the Marriage. It is SO GOOD. She is SO GOOD.

    • July 8, 2013 9:56 pm

      I am totally on a short story jag. Here is the book, but shhh…I will post about it soon: Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout. So. Good. I am totally checking out The Dog of the Marriage. I have never really read short stories before, and I really like them!

  2. July 13, 2013 1:52 pm

    Just FYI, there are apparently THREE versions of The Dog of the Marriage. The original short story collection and then TWO different “collected works” versions with the same title. The one I just finished had three of her books of short stories included. The book of hers I read years ago and which made me fall in love with her writing to begin with is At The Gates of the Animal Kingdom.

    • July 15, 2013 6:06 am

      Oooooo! Thanks for the tip! I haven’t gotten to the book store yet!

Comments are closed.

