Skip to content

A list of good things

July 9, 2013

Getting in to see my Chiropractor

A morning storm

Rain stopping by 10 am

Packing a picnic

Going to the beach

Warm sun

Cool breeze

Good friends

Happy kids

Exciting possibilities at work

Steak Tacos for dinner (with caramelized onions)  (YUM)

Nicholas’ slide into home plate

Nicholas’ pitching an inning

Reading A Wrinkle in Time (one of my FAVORITES) to Katie

Reading The Necromancer to Nicholas

Reading To Kill a Mockingbird (one of my FAVORITES) to Sarah

My back feeling better

Can’t wait for tomorrow!

Any good things to add?

6 Comments
  1. July 10, 2013 3:35 am

    Three different books with your three kids: that sounds delightful. Can’t wait to read chapter books I love with my children!

    Blogging every day is hard. It’s nice to be doing this together!

    • July 10, 2013 5:45 am

      Oh, man! It is hard! I have done it a couple of times before, though and it is so nice to get in the HABIT of showing up here. There are posts (like yesterday) that I sit in front of a blank screen for quite a while. I had a whole boring post written (a bed to bed story–what I used to warn against when I was teaching FIRST grade!) that I deleted and then I just didn’t have anything. So, a list is what happened. That’s okay. It is about showing up and writing SOMETHING. I am so grateful that we are doing this together! It makes it SO much more fun. So, THANK YOU! You inspire me.

  2. July 11, 2013 3:30 pm

    You are doing so great at the blogging every day! Kudos! I am not, but I still have had only one Coke and a few sips and tomorrow is five weeks so kudos all around! haha!

    Good things: dinner and a cozy chat evening with my friend Camilla, fun games to play, good books to read (Amy Hempel’s short stories are magical), cherries, pool party tomorrow, sunshine, cool temps, pretty pretty pelargoniums, watching Mad Men DVD box sets with Martin, sleeping IN IN IN, and soon a new 14-year-old in the house :)

    • July 11, 2013 10:29 pm

      I am definitely going to check out those short stories. I am into them right now. I am longing for a cozy chat with a girl friend or two. So that makes me jealous that you have Camilla! I know you didn’t have her for a while, but I am so happy for you that you have her NOW.

      Many congratulations on your successful weaning off the Coke! Impressive!

  3. July 13, 2013 1:49 pm

    I have to confess to being envious that you are still in the place of being able to read aloud to your kids. We did it for years, but in the past 3-4 time has just gotten away from us. We’re too busy, or someone is gone or there are so many other things to do, and reading aloud takes TIME. I need more time. I miss that part of mothering more than I expected.

    • July 15, 2013 6:04 am

      It isn’t easy. I gave up trying to read this winter and picked it up again once my semester ended. I am thoroughly enjoying it. I have to give credit to my husband. He reads every night, whether I do or not. It keeps me reading. The time thing is huge with me too, and I probably would have given up altogether if not for him.

Comments are closed.

