Skip to content

Sleepovers

July 10, 2013

When I was little, sleepovers were common.  We were always sleeping over at each other’s houses.  And many times it wasn’t just one friend sleeping over, it was two, three or more.  We always slept in the basement.  All of us with sleeping bags and pillows and we always had records playing in the background.  You remember records, don’t you?

We used to make haunted houses for each other to go through, play Barbies, and do our fortunes.  The fortunes were fun.  You had to pick three things for each category and then the person in charge of the fortune chose something awful for the fourth choice.  I remember some of the categories:  Husband, House, How much money you would have, How many kids…  I know there were more categories, but I am old.  We would do different things to determine what you would count to…spiral, slash marks, etc.  You would then count to that number and whatever thing you landed on was crossed off.  It was always an interesting life that was predicted.

We would also play blind-man’s-bluff, and hide and go seek.  We would wrestle, and we would do weird things like do sit-ups for a whole songs, or jump off the back of the couch every time the Pointer Sisters said “Fire” in their song “Fire.” It starts out easy, but at the end?  Can you imagine?

Mostly we talked and planned.  We planned our lives, several times over.  It was such a special time.

I only remember a couple of slumber parties where I was nervous about falling asleep.  I remember being with girls who were not always nice, and I was worried that they would put my arm in warm water, or draw on my face.  I would crawl to the very bottom of my sleeping bag so nobody would get me.  I had a great sleeping bag, it looked like a patchwork quilt.  I got it as a gift, and I had wanted it.  Oh.  It was perfect!

As we got older, we tried out light as a feather, stiff as a board, and I remember it worked!  I was always too freaked out about ouija boards, so if they were there I did something else.

I can’t really remember my last sleepover.  I guess I never realized that sleepovers were a stage that would end.

My girls each have a friend sleeping over tonight.  Nicholas invited his friend, but he was a little too nervous to sleep over, so he came to play until about 8:30 tonight.  After I got him in his car to go home, and said goodbye to his mom, Nicholas came running in…”I NEED TO GET MY STUFF SO I CAN GO HOME WITH HENRY!”  I said, “Wha…???”  They schemed together and Nicholas is sleeping over at HIS house tonight.  So they all have a sleepover.  I am more than a little jealous.  I know I can’t be the creepy mom who joins in.  It is a rule:  Don’t be the creepy mom.  But they probably don’t know how to play fortune.  Damn.  Stupid rules.

2 Comments
  1. July 11, 2013 3:08 pm

    Your sleepover memories sound an awful lot like MY sleepover memories. Only they were pajama parties. We put on plays for each other and whichever long-suffering parents were hosting us. :D

    You can totally still have sleepovers now, you just have to plan them very carefully and ditch your family. :D I did it a couple of times with all my best girlfriends when Anders took the kids skiing, but it’s been several years now. And I had a big LJ sleepover years ago, with a bunch of internet psychos….most of whom I’m still friends with! Hee!

  2. July 11, 2013 10:32 pm

    OH! I forgot about the endless plays! Our poor parents!

    Adult sleepovers? Huh. I never thought of that. I am pondering.

Comments are closed.

