Skip to content

The blog about nothing (and a cute animal video)

July 11, 2013

Okay.  Tonight is a night when the blank page is taunting me.  I have things that I am not quite ready to write about, they are still percolating, and I still need to finish some other things before I can write them.  I feel boring.  And I hate that.  However, I really want to honor my commitment of showing up here every day in July.  I know what is coming.

August.

You all know what that means, don’t you?  It means I abandon all things for me and get consumed by all the things that need me.  Deadlines take over.  Wants have to wait.  Sometimes until NEXT summer.  So.  Hi.  How are you?

Oh!  Wait!  Have you seen this?

We are all so entertained by this.  We go around imitating many of the animals.  We all love the “Alan!”  And we alternate each other’s names in place of Alan.  “SARAH, SARAH!”  You know.

Today, I am feeling blue.  No reason for it.  Probably just part of life.  Melancholy is normal, even when it is unexplainable.  I am also so tired.  Maybe monitoring all the sleepover stuff made me tired today.

I haven’t really looked at work for such a long time, and tomorrow I have a meeting where I should show progress.  I just don’t want to look at it.  I am sure tomorrow morning I will be kicking myself because I will get into it and will have to stop to get to my meeting.  It is at 8:30.

****

Sitting on the couch in the dark, writing.  The night black with glowing windows trespassing, chasing the blackness away.  The darkness is heavy and silent.  A train whistle interrupts.  A car noisily distracts.  My eyes want to close, and sometimes I lose the battle.  When I finally fight them open again, there are lines of “jkkkllllkl” that need to be deleted and then I have to go out and find my train of thought again,  The darn thing is fast too.  Many times I lose it all together.  Like tonight.

I hear the death hum of a mosquito who has infiltrated or home.  It is invisible and loud.  I am a big blind victim that is an easy target.  Lots of skin showing.  I contemplate getting a pet bat.

The fight to keep my eyes open seems to be a bigger task than what I can muster tonight.

The click-clacking of the keys on the keyboard are not enough to keep me awake.

I make a decision:  to stop fighting.  Sometimes you win anyway.

5 Comments
  1. July 12, 2013 4:51 pm

    I had forgotten about that video, too funny. Have you seen The Maple Kind? Search for that on YouTube: hilarious!

    I think feeling blue is often a result of sleep issues. I’m so glad for this week of sleeping in and waking up to summer days.

    • July 12, 2013 11:46 pm

      Oh! Thank you so much for sharing! The Maple Kind reminded me of this one:

      Hahahaha!

  2. July 13, 2013 1:47 pm

    Hahaahaha! I haven’t seen that one! Hilarious!

  3. July 14, 2013 7:33 am

    I completely love this line: “The night black with glowing windows trespassing, chasing the blackness away.”

    Good for you for writing even when you don’t know what to say. It’s such a struggle for me!

    • July 15, 2013 6:01 am

      It is HARD to post every single day! But I love how I start paying more attention to my own life because of it. When something worthy of a post begins, I think, “Oh, this is my post for the day!” It gives more meaning to my normally boring, mundane life. It proves to me that we do some fun things once in a while!

Comments are closed.

