Skip to content

The Twelve Years of Motherhood

July 19, 2013

IMG_0272

My very FIRST baby turned twelve today.  TWELVE.  I can hardly believe it.  It still seems like I am a new mother.  I am still figuring things out, making mistakes, regretting much…and in awe of these little people who live with me and call me mom.  I still feel like I may be standing in for their real mother while she’s out shopping.  But, it has been one heck of a shopping trip if that is the truth!  I guess I am it.  I am what they received when they were born.  I am their guide to get them to adulthood.  And Sarah, she is over half way there.  In another twelve years she will be out of college and an independent woman.  I was married by the time I was 24.  I can’t even get my head around that.

This past year has been one of major growth for Sarah.  She has switched from a little girl to a tween.  ALMOST a teen, but not quite.  Her school picture from last year looks so different from how she looks now.  She has grown up.  And although that breaks my heart, I really like this new Sarah.  She is funny, and perceptive.  She is fun to hang out with and knows when to disappear…that is a skill, my friends, that my other two don’t have yet.  She can sometimes carry on really deep and thoughtful conversations.  She is amazing.  (Yes.  She still drives me batty and is annoying and bossy…she is still Sarah…but there has been a subtle shift.)  I really like the person she is becoming.  And I am really proud that she is my daughter.

Tonight she is celebrating with her friends.  They came over this evening, we had pizza and we went out for ice cream cones (in place of cake–her request).  After the ice cream cones, we went to a nearby park where they do a movie in the outdoor band shell every Friday night.  It is called the moon light movies or something like that.  It was a perfect night for it.  Not as hot as it has been.  The bugs were still buggy, but we brought bug spray.  We saw Wreck it Ralph.  So cute!  Now Katie and Nicholas and Jeff are in bed.    The girls are watching the rest of the teen beach movie or something like that on Disney.  They Tivoed it before we left.  Her friends are such nice girls.  I am so lucky.

Happy Birthday Sarah!

We are so happy you were born!

P.S.  I know.  I am NOT joining in.  Really.  I am going to bed!

4 Comments
  1. July 20, 2013 4:07 pm

    Sounds like a perfect birthday to me. Happy BIRTH day to you too, MOM. :)

    • July 20, 2013 10:37 pm

      Yes, it is a big day for the birthday girl, but that day was pretty life changing for me as well. Cheers to new beginnings!

  2. July 24, 2013 11:45 am

    Happy Birthday to her, and congratulations to you! Twelve years is a loooong time!

    • July 24, 2013 9:57 pm

      It seems like a long time, but no matter how long the days are…the years FLY by. It is true.

Comments are closed.

