Skip to content

A bed to bed kind of posting

July 20, 2013

The humidity left over night.  Last night was the first night in a long while (so it seems) that I woke up and had to get under the sheet that I have been sleeping upon in the midst of this heat wave.  The day was gray and dull, but the windows were open and the house was fairly quiet.  The young inhabitants reading or zoning out in front of the television.  Last night’s festivities plum tuckered them out.

The morning began late to accommodate those who were up until the small hours of the morning. After slumber parties, breakfasts are required to be big.  Who was I to challenge that requirement?  I baked chocolate chip scones for the second day in a row.  I had the sou-chef fry the bacon.  I sliced peaches and diced cantaloupe and washed strawberries.  Once there were customers, I made french toast with real maple syrup, as if we would eat any other kind.  I live with food snobs, remember?  If the quality of the cooking is judged upon how much is eaten, then I feel pretty good about my cooking.  Miniature humans sure can eat a lot.

The afternoon consisted of work.  Yesterday, I had my weekly meeting with the curriculum design person.  It seems I have a new assignment, or two.  She is going to be out-of-town so there will be no meeting next week, however, this does not mean there is a break coming.  Quite the contrary.  The next time we meet (in two weeks) my course schedules are to be complete.  Done.  Fini.  She would also like my class website loaded with everything I need, and to have a course built under the content tab.  Roughly translated for those who are lost:  I have to load every document I plan to use onto my site, which I already do, and have done.  I can copy stuff from an old class…but she would like me to have a home base for my students.  It is a tab called “content” where you organize everything.  Every online discussion, dropbox, quiz and document would be outlined by modules and weeks.  It eats all of your time.  Like pac man eats those dots, and like facebook eats your free afternoons.  There are many glitches in the system that we use for our class website (D2L:  Desire 2 Learn).  Mostly they just irritate me, but some of them turn simple things into hours of trying to figure out how to get what you actually want.  I told her that if I finished all of that, that I better get a sticker!  Intrinsic motivation my large backside.

All of that to say, I have been working all day.  Detail work is my most difficult work.  I get so distracted.  Plus, it is boring and I just don’t want to do it.  Sleep is knocking at the insides of my eyelids already this evening, so I don’t know if I will give it another go tonight, but I may try.  It would be magic if I could finish this next unit.  It might give me enough oomph to continue on into the abyss of my lesson plans.

My chef, Jeff, took on dinner.  He made a spiraled porchetta.  Oh, dear lord.  It was fantastic.  I love it when he cooks.  After dinner, I couldn’t face the glowing screen of the computer, so I worked on whittling down my collection of General Hospitals on the TiVo.  I simultaneously played solitare.  I did this until I won.  It was an excellent waste of time.

I am loving all the books that I am reading to my kids right now.  It doesn’t always ring true, you know.  There have been many, many books that I have not enjoyed. Yet, I have been required to read them all the way through.  This makes bedtime all the better.  I am always amazed at how much I forget of the books I have loved.  I have lost count how many times I have read A Wrinkle in Time, however I was again shocked toward the end.  Oh, I can’t wait until tomorrow night.  I will do my best not to sneak into Katie’s room tomorrow.

I have had to start over with this post because when I realized I was sleeping, and opened my eyes, all I saw were ssssss.  (Thank goodness for auto saves!) I am taking this as a sign that I should possibly go to bed.  I am excited to sleep with the window open to the black silent night.  Even if it isn’t exactly black, and it isn’t even close to being silent most of the time.

What have you been up to?

Comments are closed.

