Skip to content

The rat race

July 31, 2013

My day today:

Get up, shower, etc.

Get in the car:  Take Sarah to Middle School Orientation Camp  (YIKES!)

Come back home, call Wildlife Rehabilitation Center, find out there is a closer place to go.

Get in the car:  Take Dusty Rabbit to the Humane Society (they take wild animals, who knew?)

Get back in the car:  go pick up Sarah

Go to lunch quick

Begin to go home (auto-pilot) and realize that Katie is still in the car

Get off freeway, turn around, get back on freeway

Take Katie to Clay-in-the-Garden class

Drop off old TV at the hazardous Waste place

Get gas (obviously)

Go home

Do dishes, plan dinner, urge Sarah to get ready for golf…Nicholas too

Get back in the car:  Pick up Katie from clay class

Go to the Golf Course, drop off Sarah, make sure her book fits in her golf bag, give her money for a snack

Go home

Urge Nicholas to get ready!  NOW!

Get back in the car:  take Nicholas to golf

Go to the grocery store to get dinner supplies

Go home

Sit with Katie for the last few minutes of “Good Luck Charlie”

Make hamburgers, put french fries in the cold oven, begin the mac ‘n cheese, unload dishes, set table

Get back in the car:  Pick up Sarah and Nicholas at golf

Go home

Eat dinner

Play cards with kids, and then solitaire

Begin Tuck Everlasting with Katie, continue To Kill A Mockingbird* with Sarah, continue The Necromancer with Nicholas

Post

 

Tomorrow is the same!  Except I go to my parents instead of the humane society.  And I have to make a different meal for dinner.  UGH.

*I am having a hard time with the “n” word being read aloud to Sarah.  It is REALLY uncomfortable.  I am talking to her about how bad it is, but she is also writing down all the words she doesn’t know as we are reading, and when I read it the first time she wanted to write it down on her vocabulary list.  That is good, right?  That she didn’t even know it?  But now, I am flustered about it.  I keep emphasizing how offensive it is, but I still don’t think she gets it.  I hope I am doing it right!  Being a parent is hard.  And not only because you spend 90% of your day in the car.

2 Comments
  1. August 4, 2013 2:25 am

    Being a parent is super-hard. I had a hard time with that word too, when we read The Help. I don’t think either of my kids have read To Kill a Mockingbird. Maybe I should resurrect Little Big Bookgroup. That is one of my all-time favorite books and it’s been too long since I’ve read it.

    • August 4, 2013 6:10 am

      Oh. Liz. Resurrect it! I have forgotten how awesome this book is. I am so happy to be reading it again!!! And let me know how you do the “N” word when you have to read it out loud. I am to the point that I just read it now, but it makes me cringe every single time.

Comments are closed.

