Skip to content

Welcome August!

August 1, 2013

Well, I did it.  I wrote something here every day in July.  Much (most) of it was boring.  I struggled with this commitment.  But I did it.

I have done it before, and every time I complete a month of posting I am always glad that I persisted.  It really does change the way you look at your life.  It makes you pay attention to things that happen around you.  It makes you think.  So much of the time I go through life deadline hopping that I forget that important things are happening every day.  And when I make a big deadline, I am often off to the next one, so I don’t savor the accomplishment.

I know that August means I lose my control over my time.  It is already happening this week.  I woke up at 3:30 this morning tossing and turning and worrying about all the things that are not done yet.  And summer is almost over for me.  I finally made a list in the dark, and tossed a bit and turned a bit more until I fell back to sleep at around 5:45.

I didn’t complete my list.  In fact I ignored all things work related on the list.  This is a problem because I have a meeting tomorrow.  Ooops.

*****

It is night.  The dark has enveloped the yard.  The cool breeze comes in through the open window in my bedroom.  Some sort of bug sits on the window sill.  Is it stuck?  Maybe.  I haven’t gotten up to see if I can even see it.  But I can hear it.  Clicking and then wailing like a siren.  Click.  Click-click.  Click. Click-click-click. Click.  Click.  WAAAAAIIIIIIIIL.  Click…. It is loud, drowning out the traffic from the freeway.  I wonder if this is a love song.

Two mating dragonflies flew in front of Nicholas and I when we were on our way to golf this afternoon.  It landed on a leaf and I was just going to point them out when they exploded from the bush.  I didn’t see where they went.  Then I felt something on the under side of my arm, and there they were.  Right under my elbow.  I didn’t want to bring them in the car with me, so I tried to get them to crawl onto the lid of our garbage can….it was right there.  They exploded away again.

I thought that spring was the season of love here in Minnesota.  Our summers are short, and all of these animals have to have time to grow out of baby-hood before the cold of winter hits. Yet, those dragonflies were still lovin’ on each other.

Maybe love is a year-round season.  That way Love Wins all the time.

*****

I would like to thank Willow for joining me on this journey this past month.  It was so much more fun with a partner in crime.

I would also like to thank Lizardek and Willow for their lovely comments.  They kept me going.  It is nice to be acknowledged, even if I am not an eloquent writer.  And I appreciate their kind words as well as their virtual friendship.

10 Comments
  1. August 2, 2013 8:16 am

    It’s epic, to have finished a month of writing… and I’m reading along with you, just not commenting as often as I intend or want (partly, I have to admit, because your blog comment system requires that I have to be signed into a social network or to WordPress to leave a comment, and I resist that!)

    I love this description of the dragon flies… they’re magic creatures for sure.

    • August 2, 2013 10:02 am

      Christina,

      I am so sorry that wordpress is a pain in the ass. I know that Liz has had problems, but I guess I didn’t understand what they were. I did some testing (below) and I didn’t need to “log in” and I checked my settings and they were not set to make people “log in” either. Maybe they were doing it until I went in to make sure they weren’t? I did see some other things that they have been doing that were not checked, so it is fishy. I really appreciate your comments. I hope you check back to see if everything is working the way is SHOULD be working. Let me know if it isn’t! xoxo

  2. August 2, 2013 9:50 am

    I am testing to see if I have to be signed in.

    • August 2, 2013 9:53 am

      I had to put in my work email in order for this to not recognize me as myself, but I only was required to put in my email and name. Is anyone else required to “log in”? My settings do not require that. I only require an email so I can reply by email if necessary. Please let me know if you are required to “log in” to facebook or wordpress. I will make sure this isn’t a requirement.

  3. August 2, 2013 10:35 am

    I have to log in too… and used to resist but now seem to have to on enough blogs that I’ve resigned myself to signing into wordpress to comment.

    I feel like I joined you late and then gave up halfway through when I got lost in the fog of gray days and jet lag. But I so appreciate the virtual friendship too!

    I love the dragonfly description too. You are hard on yourself, I think, but you really notice small details which add up to wonderful bits of stories. Have you ever tried fiction writing? Just curious.

    Congrats on doing a whole month! Next time I hope to join and stay committed throughout the month.

    • August 2, 2013 10:15 pm

      I went to the WordPress “community” where I guess you go to get help and someone answered my plea of how to allow comments without logging in to WordPress. My settings were/are correct, but this person did say that it will always prompt you to log in, but you don’t have to. The only requirement is an email.

      ***

      I think you did GREAT writing as much as you did as a guest in Spain and then in the midst of jet lag when you returned. I am just always grateful to read your words.

      You are too kind. I have never tried writing any fiction, I don’t really know how to start with that. But maybe I will dabble in my notebook with a story or two. Have you ever written fiction? Geez, I would love to read it, if you have!

      Thank you again for all of your support this month and over the years! xoxox

      • August 5, 2013 10:43 am

        The right word for my attempts at fiction thus far is “dabbled”, but I am excited to work on some story ideas I have right now and see where it goes!

        Thank you for your support too, it means a lot.

  4. August 4, 2013 2:23 am

    I have to login as well, but it still doesn’t always recognize me, for some reason. I’ve loved your month of writing! You did an awesome job!! I think you should just keep going…hee!

    • August 4, 2013 6:14 am

      Well, I missed yesterday, so the magic is over. But look! I am already here today and NONE of the kids are up yet. Lazy bones. I like my life so much more when I am writing!

Comments are closed.

