Skip to content

School Supplies

August 2, 2013

Jeff and Nicholas went to the Twins Game tonight.  Sarah, Katie, and I went out to dinner.  Lee Ann Chin.  Sesame Chicken.  Heaven.

After dinner, we hit Target to see if we could get the school supply shopping done.  We got the lion’s share done, but I will have to take Nicholas to pick out some stuff later.

All I can say is WOW.  Having a middle school child is expensive.  For the past several years I have written a check for $25 per kid and the elementary school bought the supplies.  This option was not available this year…for anyone.  With two kids done and about half of the other it was over $200.  Sheesh.

We just finished sorting and labeling and it is 11:00.  Time for bed.  And way past time for the kids.  Jeff and Nicholas aren’t home yet.

School is looming.  LOOOOOOOOOMMMMMMMIIIINNNGGGGGGG.  Shit.

2 Comments
  1. August 4, 2013 2:22 am

    I’m so glad we don’t have to do any of that here…we just have to make sure the kids have a backpack and that’s it! 200 bucks…whoa!

    • August 4, 2013 6:19 am

      YOU ARE SO LUCKY! I wish I could write out my check for $75 still, but whatever. It is just so weird. After all of those supplies (notebooks, binders, pencils…oh my!) the school still asks for a $30 donation per child for “supplies.” I just think Education is just so underfunded that it is ridiculous.

Comments are closed.

