Skip to content

S’mores

August 4, 2013

IMG_0356

Finally, last night we had a bonfire.  We have been meaning to for a while, but life kept getting in the way.  There were always activities or we were just plain tired.  The weather has been exceptionally good since last weekend.  After the freezing and the rain, Mother Nature decided 80 was a good temperature.  It has been beautiful, with sunny days and cool nights.  Perfect for a bonfire.

While I was helping with dinner (and generally cleaning up the kitchen from a day that I hadn’t been in the kitchen), I was trying to listen to A Prairie Home Companion but my phone kept buffering.  I finally gave up and went out to my computer and started listening there, however, as luck would have it, dinner was served very shortly after that.  I only heard some music, which is not my cup of tea in the program.  Not one monologue or segment!  But, I left it on as we all went to the patio to eat outside.  Another perk to having cooler temperatures.

After dinner, and after the dishes were done, I went in to turn off NPR before joining Jeff and Nicholas by the newly born fire.  There was a show on called, Ask Me Another.  Have you listened to it before?  It distracted me enough that I sat down to listen.  It is a quiz show that has math-y questions, but then did a segment called “The real housewives of Greek Mythology.”  I don’t know if I have mentioned it here, but Sarah?  She is OBSESSED with Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief Series.  She has read every book in the two series that he is in, and is impatiently awaiting the next book that comes out in October.  (I ordered it for her and it will be delivered to our house when it is released.)  I yelled for her and she answered every question correctly except the last one.  Impressive.  I put NPR on my phone and we went out to the fire.  We listened until the bad music came on.  I am excited to have another show to listen to on NPR!  And I love that it is totally nerdy.

After our radio show listening, I tried getting some songs to be sung around the campfire, but NOBODY sang with me.  I did start with “kumbaya,” that wasn’t to enticing, but I didn’t even get any sympathy laughs.  I tried to think of a good rock song that I could sing acapella, but I don’t know the words without the music.  So, I gave up.  That is when Sarah decided we should have bookclub by the fire.  My family is weird, but the s’mores were delicious!

IMG_0357

2 Comments
  1. the habit of being permalink
    August 4, 2013 11:48 am

    how lucky you can read outdoors by the fire, we’d be eaten up with mosquitoes!

    • August 6, 2013 9:43 pm

      Oh, yes. There were mosquitoes. But it was cold, so they were not as active that night, until the sun went down. Then, thankfully the fire was died down enough to go inside!

      Thanks for stopping by and saying hi!

Comments are closed.

