Skip to content

A Plea to you

August 13, 2013

Tonight as I sit in a quiet house, thinking about the beautiful evening, the sun reflecting through the bright green leaves on the trees as it slowly makes its way to the other side of the earth.  The cool breeze caressing my bare arms and my cheeks softly as it goes by, taking its time.  I am enjoying this unseasonably cool (but not cold) August, and I am contemplating my office, and my curriculum.

Multitasking.

The first major assignment for my class is a poetry project.  I take one class period for my students to browse poems in books to find one that they connect to and that describes them.  It is a great way to get them to connect to their reading.  Not to mention the fact that poems can be difficult, but they are short and can touch the underbelly of your essence that is usually not exposed.

I have many children’s books of poetry, and quite a few adult anthologies.  In all I have a little over 20 books.  In my old office (in the jungle), I claimed one shelf on a book shelf for these books so I didn’t have to transport them every semester.  Unfortunately, some of my books were missing when I went to pack them last week.  About 7 were missing.  I still think someone could have “borrowed” them and they could possibly turn up after the beginning of the school year.

Needless to say, I need to get some more poetry books.  I do have my favorite authors, but what I would really appreciate is if YOU ALL could tell me what poetry BOOKS you recommend.  I know that I have a few holes in my collection, and your suggestions would mean so much to me!

Please, leave a comment, what books (it must be a book of poetry because part of this project is learning how to use citation) do you think I should add to my collection?

6 Comments
  1. LisaPie permalink
    August 13, 2013 11:44 pm

    Hi Megsie,
    Popping over from the Pie to suggest Sandra Cisneros and Pablo Neruda, two of my favorites.

  2. August 14, 2013 7:42 am

    Thank you so much LisaPie! I have a couple of Pablo Neruda books (one of them being his odes that I love!) but I don’t have any poetry selections of Sandra Cisneros, only her books of essays: House on Mango Street, and Woman Hollering Creek. Do you like Loose Woman or My Wicked, Wicked Ways better? I love her essays I can’t wait to check out her poems. I so appreciate you popping over!

  3. Deb permalink
    August 14, 2013 1:22 pm

    Hi Megsie:
    Have you read anything by William Logan? He is a contemporary poet and is a poetry critic, often writing reviews for the New York Times.

    • August 14, 2013 3:39 pm

      Hi Deb! Thank you for your suggestion! I have never heard of William Logan, and I just went to Amazon…and wow! He has many, many books! I can’t wait to explore! Do you have a favorite title? I hope you stop back again, I appreciate your comment!

  4. Deb permalink
    August 21, 2013 7:51 pm

    I liked The Whispering Gallery by Logan, but I think you should check out his work (via amazon’s “read a few pages”) before you get it. His poetry is not for everyone.

  5. Deb permalink
    August 21, 2013 7:53 pm

    PS: several of Logan’s books are poetry criticisms – those themselves are something to read!

Comments are closed.

