Skip to content

Hello November

November 1, 2013

IMG_4501

So, I was listening to Anne Lamotton Super-Soul Sunday this past weekend.  She was talking about how Operating Instructions came to be written, and when she said, “one sentence per day…” It stuck in my craw.  It has been echoing in my head all week.  I have looked at my journal (that is BLANK) that sits on my cabinet in my office and every, single day as those words boomed in my ears.  And then?  Elizabeth decided to do NaBloPoMo this month.  I am so excited to read her words every day this month.  It is like finding buried treasure when you discover a post from her.  I can’t commit to a post every day, I am already behind enough in my real life.  But.  One sentence?  Maybe I could show up for one sentence.  That seems doable.  Plus, one sentence sometimes leads to a whole paragraph.  Like now.

Sarah as Annibeth from the Percy Jackson Series

Sarah as Annibeth from the Percy Jackson Series

I am more behind at work than I have EVER been.  Changing things around this semester really kicked my butt, and didn’t really work the right way.  I will be changing back with more clarity for next semester. I have good students, for the most part, so that has been fun.  I love having my own office and my own door!  I don’t love that it is still not “done.”  The Dean of My Division stopped by yesterday and gave me complements about the decor, and I told him how not done it is…and he said, “Are we ever done?”  And he is right.  I decided that on my gravestone it should say “Unfinished.”  Because it is true.  I am eternally unfinished in every aspect of my life.

IMG_4493

Jeff’s mom is in a nursing home now.  She is pretty drugged up and probably won’t leave there again.  She is wheel-chair bound and sleeps most of the time.  She is awake for meals and maybe an hour before hand, but she is basically just existing.  It breaks my heart.

IMG_4494

My dad is well on that same road.  He and my mom went to California last Friday until early December, but it was a tentative decision.  It is a real possibility that this is the last year of travel for him.  My parents will be moving into assisted living in the spring.  This also breaks my heart.  However, I am glad.  My mom will need help caring for my dad.  I am happy she is being proactive so it is in place before it becomes an emergency.

My parents with the grandkids.

My parents with the grandkids.

My kids are growing up.  This is the first year that they all went trick or treating with friends.  Nicholas and Katie were at other people’s houses, and Sarah and her friend were here.  We had to do pre-Halloween pictures so I could have one!  Sad.  I missed them.

Franklin was thrilled, but he little kids were even more excited!

Franklin was thrilled, but he little kids were even more excited!

So.  There is the quick and dirty update.  There are many more little things to tell you, but I have one sentence per day to do that.  It has been a treat clearing off all the cobwebs and sitting with my keyboard this morning.  November is here!  Time to hunker down and begin the long season of snuggling close to each other.  Fires in the fireplace, soup on the stove, maybe some knitting between my semesters,  and maybe a book?  It could happen.  Anything is possible.

IMG_4500

4 Comments
  1. November 2, 2013 4:39 pm

    Yay for posting! Yay for one sentence at a time! And DOUBLE YAY for not feeling guilty about it if you can’t keep up. We all know how that darn real life gets demanding. HUGS!

  2. November 3, 2013 3:04 pm

    So far I am three for three! Is that a TRIPLE YAY?!

  3. November 4, 2013 9:47 am

    So happy to see you back here. So sorry about the aging parents ordeals, but yay that you’re making time for you during all of this.

    • November 4, 2013 9:16 pm

      BARB! It is so nice to see you here! So far so good with this showing up thing. I hope I can keep at it. This always makes things shift for the better, when I show up and write things down. We’ll see.

Comments are closed.

