Skip to content

Wow–So LAME

November 9, 2013

I am tired.  I spent the day shopping.  I don’t really like shopping unless it meets two conditions:  It is for about an hour, and I am shopping for myself, so I get all the goodies at the end of the day.  Neither condition was met today.  It was a four-hour long spree, and we had to go to two separate places to get what we wanted.  My feet hurt.  I can hardly keep my eyes open.  I have SO MUCH work to do, homework and grading, but I really wanted to show up here again today.  Ten years ago tonight I went to bed one way and woke up another.  I had no idea that I would go into labor when I went to bed, my water just broke.  It doesn’t seem like it could be ten years already.  Presents are wrapped and on their chairs by the kitchen table.  There will be no cake or scones in the morning, because my oven is broken.  We have a week more to wait and then hopefully I will be able to bake stuff again.

Here are a few things that I read today that were worth the procrastination:

http://www.ted.com/talks/andrew_stanton_the_clues_to_a_great_story.html

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/11/07/opinion/blow-the-passion-of-parenting.html?_r=0&adxnnl=1&smid=fb-share&adxnnlx=1384026693-EGWaoOLhy4Ui9IzroGZABQ

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/865590126/Raising-real-men-Kindness-isnt-for-wimps.html

http://www.npr.org/2013/11/07/243713419/trim-recess-some-schools-hold-on-to-childs-play?utm_content=socialflow&utm_campaign=nprfacebook&utm_source=npr&utm_medium=facebook

Enjoy!

2 Comments
  1. November 10, 2013 3:23 pm

    I have a weird relationship with procrastination. Most things? Never. Major things: Sadly, too often. Shopping is one of them.

    • November 11, 2013 12:47 am

      And, I would say Most things? Always. Including Major things. I am a horrible procrastinator. HORRIBLE. So my favorite phrase is: If it weren’t for the last minute, nothing would ever get done. That is the whole reason I need deadlines, I need that last minute!

Comments are closed.

