Skip to content

Growing Grace

November 11, 2013

I read blogs.  I know, that is shocking, considering I am writing one right now.  I guess what I want you to know (if you don’t already) is that is how this whole thing started, by reading blogs.  And from the first blog I read, I was introduced to many others that I faithfully read whenever there is a new post.  Oh, sure I get behind. But I have really made it a priority to read my favorites on the day they post, if at all possible.  Sometimes I am a little late because my life gets in the way, but this is what feeds my soul.  There is a connection with the author that is such a privilege when reading a blog.  I have forged some virtual relationships by commenting on blogs.  It is the reason I began my own blog, because I wanted to form a better connection with my virtual friends.

I also read blogs where I have little connection to the author.  I usually skip the comments altogether on these blogs.  I just read their posts and go on my merry way.  I do appreciate all of the blogs that I read, even the ones I have let go of.  I still go back and read sometimes, but these are the blogs that I haven’t felt a connection to, so I look at their numbers of posts unread growing in my RSS list:  180, 64, 173….  I haven’t had the heart to delete them yet.  I still want to see them there.

I feel so blessed to have the opportunity to read the words of so many talented authors.  It enriches my life more than I can really put into words.  I know I have highlighted a post about making nets on Momastery this past week already, but yesterday I read another post over there that made me cry.  Do you mind reading it? It is very short and  I’ll wait for you.

momastery.com/blog/2013/11/10/coab-church-bench/

I don’t know why this hit me so hard, but it did.  Maybe I have felt that same thing–that panic to get away from a person that might make me feel uncomfortable.  And when he reached out for her hand, I know I would have prevented that from happening.  This letter changed my perception, and will change how I will be the next time I am encountered with a situation similar to this.  I have always been able to chit-chat, but I also found any excuse to get away from this kind of situation.

This is why I read blogs.  It makes me a better person.  This is only one specific example, there are numerous others on many, many other special sites.  All of you bloggers out there help me to grow and give me Grace.  I am so grateful.  Thank you.

 

2 Comments
  1. November 11, 2013 3:16 pm

    I CHERISH the relationships that I have forged online…you being one of them! And I am loving this month of blogging goodness from so many of my friends. I hope it keeps going, honestly!

    • November 12, 2013 9:28 pm

      I hope you know you are on the short list as well! I am having a blast with this whole everyone-write-this-month thing! It is so much fun!

Comments are closed.

