Skip to content

Best Birthday EVER!

November 12, 2013

All good things today, as I celebrate 44 years of LIFE. As well as FOUR years of blogging.  I don’t know HOW on EARTH it has been four years already, but there you go, time–it flies.  So, because I have a list of things to do today, I will leave you with a list of all the goodness and LOVE that I received today (in the order of occurrence…):

1.  Sweet “Good Mornings” and “Happy Birthday” wishes from…my husband…Sarah…Franklin (Who also supplied lots of doggy kisses and tail wags)…Nicholas…and Katie

2.  At my place at the breakfast table:  A Chocolate Eclair from Patrick’s Bakery, Godiva Chocolates, AND as gift certificate for a MASSAGE!!  (Oh, I am so excited!)  (BEST husband EVER!)

3.  Facebook friends wishing me “Happy Birthday!”  Oh, I love facebook if only for the birthday wishes.

4.  A steady stream of students asking good questions trying to cram for the test

5.  Giving a test…no teaching or plans for the day!

6.  Good conversations with colleagues about exciting things happening in our department

7.  Nice Texts and Voicemails filled with love

8.  Coming home to a cooking husband (I have told you that my husband is the BEST cook in the house, haven’t I?)

9.  Being BANNED from the Kitchen

10.  Lovely phone calls from my parents and my sister and my good friends

11.-111. DINNER.  Oh, my goodness.  There is a short story to tell about this. Ever since I was a little girl I have chosen the same place to go for my birthday dinner.  Cafe di Napoli.  It was located in downtown Minneapolis.  My favorite was the Manicotti.  This was where Jeff threw me a surprise party for my 30th birthday and the meal that Jeff brought me when I was still in the hospital after giving birth to twins.  (He drove downtown to pick it up.)  Sarah still remembers Cafe di Napoli.  We went there when I brought my niece and Sarah to Dora LIVE at the State Theater.  Eventually di Napoli’s closed, and I was heartbroken.  I went right up to the owner and told him how heartbroken I was, and he suggested that I try his uncle’s restaurant, Piazza’s.  I was thrilled and we adopted that restaurant for my birthday dinner, plus I still got my Manicotti.  Same family recipe and everything!  Last winter, after a hockey game, Jeff and Nicholas were heading out to a Wild game (MN Pro Hockey Team), so I decided that the girls and I would go to Piazza’s.  And we did.  And it was closed.  And I cried.  Fast forward to TONIGHT.  MY BEST HUSBAND EVER MADE MANICOTTI FOR ME.  It was BETTER than Di Napoli’s.  Oh.  My.  He is AMAZING.   He called me into the dark kitchen and there were birthday candles in my manicotti.  They sang.  It could not have been more perfect, I was all misty.  LOVE WINS!

112-176.  A MAGIC SURPRISE:  sha–ZAM!  I am all signed up, and SO EXCITED!  Who else is going to do this with me?  It would be so fun to have some friends do it too!  What a perfectly LOVELY birthday present!  Thank you Elizabeth!

177.  Presents from my parents and my sister, and the cards, from my mom especially.

178.  Blogging on time and not feeling the least bit guilty about those tests that are refusing to grade themselves.

179.  This feeling, LOVE WINS!

4 Comments
  1. November 13, 2013 2:37 pm

    Oh my goodness, that was a GOODTHINGSPACKED post!!! I’m so glad you had such a great birthday and the best part is so many of those things will last for SO LONG. Birthday win!

    • November 14, 2013 8:08 am

      Thank you Liz! And you are right about those things lasting, I only wish those tests GRADED THEMSELVES!

  2. November 18, 2013 12:01 am

    I love that you had such a wonderful birthday! And I am planning to sign up for Elizabeth’s class too, for a birthday/Christmas present for myself. Now we just need to get you a house elf to keep up with all that grading! And yes – having a husband who cooks is the best gift in the world.

    • November 22, 2013 12:04 am

      SQUEEE!!!! I am so excited for her class, and to have you in it with me makes it THAT much more special!!!!

Comments are closed.

