Skip to content

You are the Music in Me*

November 16, 2013

When Sarah joined a local choir at the suggestion of her music teacher, I had no idea what I was getting into.   She joined when she was in third grade, and she had a wonderful director.  She was like a grandma, and a kindergarten teacher all at the same time.  She oozed nurturing.  And she retired that same year.  The interim director was the director for the choir that was one level up, and was very different from the nurturing grandma who had kids come over to bake cookies.  Not that she was bad.  No.  She was kind, but serious.  Intimidating.  No-nonsense.  There was a contrast.  Sarah took years to get used to her, and the twins loved her immediately.  They started the year she was the interim director.

She was a little intimidating to me as well, and still is.  Whenever we miss or anything, I always feel like I am in trouble.  I may have a little judge-y thing going on with her, is what I am saying.  I had her in a box, thinking that her activity is the most important (which everyone does…) and I guess I thought she had an air of superiority about her.

I was wrong.

This year, I had the privilege of attending two concerts–alone.  The first one was on Veteran’s day.  We went to the Veteran’s hospital during lunch and the kids sang patriotic songs.  During this concert, the director got up and made the best speech about how important it was for the children to be there, and to appreciate the sacrifices that the people in the audience made for our freedom.  I can’t reproduce it here, but she spoke straight from the heart, and dedicated her performance that day to her dad who was a Veteran as well.  It chipped away the “untouchable” image that I had of her.  I was moved during this performance, and proud.

Today was another performance.  I got in trouble at the practice yesterday, because Nicholas was not going to perform, so he didn’t go to the practice last night.  She pointedly asked me if it was hockey…of course it was.  She pushed and said that she hoped that the next time he could sing instead, so they could “take turns.”  I told her he would be at the Christmas concert for sure.  She nodded like a teacher nods at her student.  I left with my tail between my legs.

But.

Today’s performance was amazing.  I had no idea that this children’s choir festival was for two new children’s choirs that are just starting out in the Twin Cities.  She had her kids join these newly forming choirs to show them that there are other kids who sing just like they do, and I think…to mentor the two new choirs.  The songs that were chosen again moved me to tears…which is not normal. (I am usually watching my phone to see how much longer I have to be there.  I am more of a rock-and-roll girl than classical-ish music.)  Again, I was so proud that my kids had the opportunity to help two new choirs.  What a great experience for them, as well as for the other choirs.

My kids are always on the fence when I ask them if they want to do choir again.  They have decided to continue, so far, but Nicholas needed some major convincing this year.  I am afraid this might be the activity that gets downsized.  It is a big commitment.  And it is a big commitment for me as well.  I just think that they are a part of something great right now, and I sure hope they continue as long as they are able.

*High School Musical…with Zac Efron, Liz.

4 Comments
  1. November 17, 2013 4:01 am

    HEE! Your postscript made me giggle. As if I don’t know all the HSM songs by HEART. Ahem. Don’t tell anyone I said that. I hope Nicholas continues, but I know how hard it is with boys and choir and choir commitments. It is a LOT of time and effort…but I think it’s SO worth it. Singing is the second best thing for the soul, after laughter. :)

  2. November 17, 2013 8:05 pm

    I also giggled! xo

  3. November 17, 2013 11:49 pm

    What a great experience for your kids! Choir can be a huge commitment but they are learning SO much…and it’s cheaper than buying band instruments, right? I would LOVE for Thomas to be in a choir one day.

    • November 22, 2013 12:10 am

      We will be crossing that band instrument bridge next year. Sarah is playing the Clarinet. She has MY old one from when I was in middle school! An antique! But we don’t have any other instruments sitting around anymore. We will have to figure that out.

Comments are closed.

