Skip to content

The other side of the fence

November 22, 2013

I had such a better day today.  It is amazing how much more engaged my two classes on Tuesdays/Thursdays than my Monday/Wednesday class.  It is so much more fun to teach them.  I am sure that I am a better teacher because they actually engage as well.  It is so hard to keep the energy up when everyone is just staring at you listlessly. It is encouraging that my other two classes responded well to everything.  It is hard not to take it personally, sometimes.

It snowed today.  Not the big fluffy flakes that look like magic falling from heaven, but the tiny spheres that race to the ground.  It was slippery driving for the first time.  I think that is the worst part of winter.  I was lucky, the person in the right lane could stop, and saw me slipping.  I would surely have crashed into stopped traffic in the left lane, so I swerved into the right lane.  Scary.  I decided not to go to the grocery store.  I just wanted to go home.

I am getting to the point of being overwhelmed by my “to do” list.  I have been trying to use post-it notes to keep track of what to do next.  They are little enough that you can not have 4,734 things on the list.  So you have five things.  That at least SEEMS doable.  I just seem to keep getting interrupted.  And I am SUPPOSED to be interrupted!  I want my students to come and see me in my office.  I need to help my kids with their homework.  I have to, you know, FEED my family…and wash the dishes.  (Jeff may have figured out that I was sort of leaving them for him….)

Tonight between all of that I have been working on the basket that I am required to make for a silent auction.  I have to drop it off in the morning.  I am frustrated because it is not going smoothly.  It could be because of the interruptions, or it could be that it looks good in my head, and I can’t get it to look like that in real life.  So.  It isn’t done yet.  Grrr.

I am going to put on Castle and try to get it done.  (Yes.  I know it is 11:47.)  It will be nice to get ONE thing off my plate.

2 Comments
  1. November 22, 2013 10:34 am

    Ugh, I hate it when to-do lists grow fangs and claws and pounce upon you. Whip it! Whip it good! I hope Jeff is pulling his weight and not leaving all the house/family stuff for you, but from what you’ve said about him, I doubt it…life just gets overwhelming sometimes. Hugs and ughs!

    • November 22, 2013 4:06 pm

      Jeff has really been amazing. AMAZING. I am so behind. Ugh. And tired. And, you know, I want to nap.

Comments are closed.

