Skip to content

A Bright, Bright, Sunshiny Day*

November 24, 2013

The sun pouring in the windows this morning is filling up the void that the cold, cold, arctic air has gouged out of my soul.  It is so cold.  The juxtaposition of warmth and extreme cold is the anomaly that we live with for more than half of the year.  It is even more pronounced in the winter, but we have been having winter-weather NOW.  The high today will be 29 degrees F.  Right now it is 15 degrees.  Yet the sun flows into the livingroom like it is a summer’s day, ignoring the frost on the car windows, waiting to be scraped.

Thank God for the sun.

There is an instant glow that comes on a sunny day INSIDE myself.  When you live in a place where it can be cloudy and gloomy for days on end, the sun is like an angel descending.  Today we feel that blessing, and it is compounded because I don’t have anywhere to GO today.  I can stay inside, and wrap up in warm blankets.  Read my homework and grade my student’s homework.  Work on writing a New common course outline for a new course that I will be teaching next fall, and work on doing my part in our program review.

The only thing that might throw a wrench in my plan is dinner.  What to have?  I *might* have to go out to get the sustanence it takes to keep my children alive.  There are laws and such about it.  Unfortunately.

*I Can See Clearly Now by Johnny Nash

 

 

2 Comments
  1. November 24, 2013 10:39 am

    We had gorgeous sunny blue skies here today, too! O! how I needed it. It’s freezing here as well, sounds like our weather is pretty similar though we haven’t had any snow YET.

    • November 26, 2013 7:19 am

      All of our snow has been gone for a while. It is just cold and dingy with naked trees all over the place. NO SUN today, which is depressing.

Comments are closed.

