Skip to content

Post Thanksgiving Wrap-Up

November 29, 2013

Today we got to sleep in.  Woot!  I got “up” and pulled my laptop onto my bed to begin working and that is where I stayed until one of my papers was submitted.  One down, four to go!

But then, I got up for real and went downstairs to finish up the dishes from last night.  Roasting pan, a few extra odds and ends.  I called my mom while I was cleaning up and we talked for a long time.  My dad is not doing well.  She is kind of freaking out about being in California alone with him.  She mostly worries about something happening to her because then what would happen to him?  It sounds like she may choose to stay home after Christmas instead of heading back to California for the winter.  She got weepy when she told me that.  It sucks.

Yesterday we went to see Jeff’s mom in the nursing home.  She looked awful.  Just terrible.  I seriously thought she looked like people in the concentration camp.  She has lost a lot of weight, and they have cut her hair so it is about an inch long all over.  She refuses to put her teeth in.  It was not easy for my kids or for Jeff and me to see her like that.  We left there with our hearts broken.  Did I say that this sucks?  Because it does.

Dinner yesterday was a success.  Here is the menu:

Hors d’oeuvres:
Sliced Apples soaked in freshly squeezed lemon
Homemade caramel sauce
Variety of sliced cheeses
Smoked pheasant
Variety of Crackers
Fancy Mixed Nuts
Whole Cashews

Main Course:
Fresh Roasted Turkey
Traditional Mashed Potatoes
Turkey Gravy
Seasoned Stuffing
Candied Yams
Scalloped Corn
Steamed and Sauteed Fresh Green Beans with Garlic
Canned Jellied Cranberry Sauce
Black and Green Olives
Buttered Crescent Rolls

Dessert:
Homemade Chocolate Pudding
Homemade Pumpkin Pie
Freshly Whipped Cream

Let’s just say, we were well fed.  I didn’t put out the jigsaw puzzle because I have way too much to do right now.  And?  If there was a puzzle?  I would totally do it instead of the stuff that needs to be done.  Just like I am writing right now instead of finishing my next paper (almost two done!).  The turkey was done to perfection, and the rest of the food was delicious.  Jeff’s dad joined us for dinner, but was in a big hurry to leave.  I think he was really sad because this was the first big holiday that Jeff’s mom missed.  She was even here on the Fourth of July.  He is talking about bringing her here for Christmas.  I don’t think that is a great idea, but how do you say no?  Good Grief.

So anyway…sorry for the depressing digression…after I talked with my mom, I came back up stairs to do another paper.  I ALMOST finished before we had to go to Nicholas’ Hockey Tournament!  It was a great game.  They were neck and neck with the other team the whole time, but they pulled off the victory!  It was an exciting end.  We had two penalties so we only had three skaters.  The other team pulled their goalie.  So it was 6 on 3, and we held them!  Yippee!

We play tomorrow at 12:00.

Turkey Tourney here we come!  We all want that victory!

We had Thanksgiving dinner again tonight and I swear it tastes even better the day after!  I hope everyone out there had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  We certainly did, and I am staying in denial that the Christmas Season is upon us.  Because, at least in MY house, IT ISN’T.

2 Comments
  1. November 30, 2013 4:25 am

    Your menu sounds so feasty!! We don’t even do appetizers at all because everyone is so ready for the main meal and then stuffed afterwards. I wish I’d thought to tell someone to make scalloped corn, that sounds so good!!

    Hurrah for getting things done, for hockey wins and sleeping in.

    I can’t imagine how tough it is with your parent situation on both sides. I send you huge hugs.

  2. November 30, 2013 10:45 pm

    I accept your hugs, as always, and I thank you for them. We had another hockey win today…we will play the championship game tomorrow. The scalloped corn is my FAVORITE, so you should make some to go with your left over potatoes.

    I hope you had a feasty-feast today too!

Comments are closed.

