Skip to content

Just a Glimpse

June 1, 2014

IMG_0967

Hi Everyone!

I finally feel able to sit down and write.  I have been thinking about this dusty little blog on and off for what, FIVE months?!  Well.  Yes.  Almost exactly five months.  I have been reading and keeping up with those of you I know about, but for those I don’t know about, or those who don’t write, I hope you have had a wonderful 2014 so far.

So, here is just a glimpse of what my life has been like:

1.  Work. 

I taught four classes (16 credits) this past semester.  I taught two classes of the lower-level developmental reading course, and two classes of the upper-level course.  It was easier to grade papers when I only had two of each type of course, but I also had to prepare lessons for two different courses, which is harder.  It was nice because I had a lot of students from last semester take their upper level course with me.  But that was also hard because it is still me teaching, and I think they didn’t get a new fresh perspective.  It was “more of the same”.  I had great classes, great students, and a great semester with them.  I totally miss them, but not the grading.

2.  School.

I took my last class to earn my Post-Secondary Reading and Learning Certificate from California State/Fullerton.  I am SO HAPPY to be done with this certificate.  It was a hard class focusing on creating a “model” reading program.  It was intended to be really idealistic, pie in the sky, make your dreams come true…but I would have rather focused on how to make a difference with what I have to work with.  Don’t get me wrong, I am still idealistic, but I have a bit of realism that has crept in as well.  I earned my “A” but that last paper was not up to my potential, and I am trying to talk myself into believing that it doesn’t matter and I don’t care, but I still feel guilty that I didn’t do my best.  Any way….Who CARES?  I earned my certificate and with straight A’s to boot!

3.  FUN SCHOOL.

In the midst of my crazy life I decided last fall to take a fun class with Elizabeth called The Magic of Myth.  Oh, my.  It was THE BEST part of the year so far for me, and I am not even done with the class.  I was fully engaged in the first three weeks, and then?  I had to do my other (graded) school work (see above) and I had to do work stuff for students and for my department.  I had to hang it up for later.  Which means soon.  The website closes in the next couple of weeks, so I have to go back and finish up the writing part.  I will tell you all about it, but right now the only word that comes to mind is:  WOW.  Elizabeth is an incredible person.  She just is.  I can’t wait to share my experience with you!

4.  Family.

My parents are still not moved into their Assisted Living apartment.  We have packed and moved boxes, but the lion’s share is still to be done.  They have furniture in their new place, and some stuff, but my mom is really dragging her feet.  We have randomly selected Father’s Day weekend to move more stuff and Monday, June 16th as their moving day.  It still sucks.

Jeff’s mom is still the same.  We have gone to visit her a few times, and she is at first kind of alert, but it usually ends with her sleeping.  This sucks as well.

Jeff has been fishing a few times, and has been back to the keyboard writing about it.  He is not coaching this summer.  He is making good food as usual.  Yesterday we had Breakfast Pizzas.  They were delicious.

Sarah, Katie, & Nicholas are all ready for summer, but sad that school is ending.  None of them want to learn anything ever again, but they are going to miss their friends.  We have had a break from hockey and are gearing up for a hockey summer day camp that will start this month.  We have finished with choir, the kids sang at Orchestra Hall (downtown) for their big spring concert.  We have finished with dance as of last night, three recitals in one day.  We have started baseball and softball (Katie only) and Sarah will be starting rehearsals for a summer play that she is in:  The Wizard of Oz.

The three singers at Orchestra Hall

The three singers at Orchestra Hall

Franklin has been sweet, and calm.  He has also been a freaky dog with the barking.  The usual.  He made it through a thunderstorm last night without shaking or panting.  He is weird.

5.  The House

is a mess.  I am attempting to gut it.  It is slow going.  I have done all laundry.  I have a vision.  I still am just as resistant to cleaning as ever, but it MUST be done.  I can’t stand it any more.

I am happy to be back here!  Writing feels good!  Any updates you would like to share? xoxo

4 Comments
  1. June 2, 2014 10:27 am

    So glad to get a little glimpse about what you’ve been up to. Hopefully you’ll have a bit more time on your hands now… especially because I want to hear more about that Myth course! :D Oh, and I hear you about the house. I have been making my first tentative effort at spring cleaning this week, and it is so overwhelming that part of me wishes we just lived in a tent. The more reasonable part of me, like you, has a vision of a clean and welcoming living space sometime this century, so I’m cheering both of us on in that!

  2. June 2, 2014 3:23 pm

    I haven’t checked back on my Myth yet. I had to work today, so maybe tomorrow I will find the time! It is a perfect thing to procrastinate with… HA! :)

  3. June 4, 2014 2:26 pm

    Oh yay! You are writing! Such fun to catch up, and your kids! Goodness…they are growing…so grownup!

    • June 4, 2014 10:04 pm

      I know. They are getting big! Sarah will be in 7th grade next year. THAT seems wrong, doesn’t it? xo

Comments are closed.

