Skip to content

An Open Heart

June 2, 2014

Yesterday I took the kids to the movie Maleficent.  I looked online, and the listing said it began at 3:00, but when we got to the actual theater we found out it began at 3:30.  Annoying, but I am calling it divine intervention.  This made time for me to go and buy new running shoes.

I made it a goal to walk this summer, knowing how much I would rather sit on a soft surface instead.  I am out of shape.  Really.  I also knew that it would be hard.  Hard to get out of bed.  Hard to “make time.”  Hard because it will not be fun for a while.

Today, I woke up at 4:30 AM anticipating my first day of walking.  Jeff was still sleeping, and I didn’t want to wake him.  The wild card is Franklin who always gets up with me.  He will stay in bed with me, but as soon as I get up, he gets up no matter who he is sleeping with.  And once he is up?  He wants EVERYBODY up.  I stayed in bed until Jeff got up at 5:30.  Then, I didn’t want to wake SARAH up.  So I stayed in bed until 6:00.  Then I got up.  I put on my new shoes and walked out the door.

It was raining.

I kept walking.

Soon I heard a car coming from behind me.  It was my husband.  He threw me my raincoat.  It warmed my heart.

I kept walking.  With an open heart.  I noticed the cardinals flitting here and there, and heard the songs of many birds.  The rain dripped from my bangs, and the rain darkened the front of my blue sweatshirt.  The evergreens were showing off the mint green tips of their branches.  They looked like they had just gotten a manicure.  There were worms in the street taking a squirm of their own.  The breeze was slight and fragrant, the rain steady, but also light and gentle.  I let my mind wander taking in the spring beauty, and letting sadness come remembering the dog who died earlier this spring when I approached that place in the road.

I was out later than usual, so the sun was up and there were a few people about.  I felt the uncomfortable spots on my feet, and noted that I needed to get the inserts from my other shoes into these new ones–STAT.  I greeted the people I met with a smile.  I noticed the lilacs and the green of the grass and how black the pavement is when it is wet.  I began today with an open heart.  I would like to greet every day, and every moment that same way.

4 Comments
  1. June 3, 2014 1:55 am

    Good for you! Starting a new workout routine is so damn hard that it can make you (read: ME) want to give up before even starting, so I’m cheering you on. And your husband too; what a sweet gesture!

    • June 3, 2014 8:59 pm

      I walked today as well. And, my legs ache. It is embarrassing how out of shape I am. But, I will walk again tomorrow. (It is only because you are cheering so loudly!)

      And, yes. Jeff never ceases to surprise me.

  2. June 4, 2014 2:14 pm

    I’m cheering you on, too! Wish I could get motivated!!

    • June 4, 2014 10:05 pm

      What do you mean?! You are my inspiration! You have been walking all winter…I haven’t walked regularly for TWO YEARS. Disgusted by that, I am.

Comments are closed.

