Skip to content

Everyday Magic

June 5, 2014

IMG_1008

It looks a little bit like snow, doesn’t it?  The first time my kids saw the cotton seed drifting in the breeze on a warm spring day, they thought it was snowing.  They were confused, because it was warm out, but how can your eyes be wrong?  I had to let them out of the car to go and touch it.  To feel the soft downy, cottony seeds.  I also had to show them the cottonwood trees where the seeds were born before they took flight.  That day was full of wonder.  I remember it every spring when I see little drifts in the corners of the curbs.  My friend at work loves cottonwood seed.  She calls it “magical” because she grew up down south, where there are no cottonwood trees.  She was lucky enough to be on a photo shoot with her kids when the cotton was flying.  The way she said those pictures turned out, made me remember my own kid’s wonder….magical.

I believe there is magic all around us, should we choose to look.

IMG_1024

I have been playing around with writing my very own myth this week.  I am not far at all.  The story isn’t even there yet.  Only a character and a tree house, and the weather. I have a whole bunch of writing exercises that I plan on completing the next time I sit down with my laptop intent on writing an original myth.  I am SO not a writer.  I am eternally stuck.  I know I need to PLAY with this, but I don’t really know where to start.  The starting is always my weakness.  My fatal flaw.  Elizabeth is amazing though.  I can’t really even put into words how much magic she is radiating through the computer screen at me.

IMG_1011

I will stick with it, and hopefully I will have something to show you at the end of it all.

IMG_1010

I still have a long way to go, however!

 

The wild raspberry plants are flowering!

The wild raspberry plants are flowering!

I hope I can find that specific magic sometime soon.

4 Comments
  1. June 6, 2014 6:59 am

    Love the winding road! Magic is everywhere, if we open our eyes!

    • June 6, 2014 10:29 pm

      I agree! I just really wish that house elves were real. Is that too much to ask?

  2. June 8, 2014 2:08 pm

    My siblings and I used to play “brownies” when we were little: cleaning up without telling my mom what we were doing :) Not very often, but enough that I remember it!

Comments are closed.

