Skip to content

Losing Focus

June 6, 2014

My motivation is not great to begin with, but it is always worse during the days right after I get done teaching, and before the kids get done with school.  I have gone into work a few times, and I have done a few little things here and there…the laundry most notably, but I have started cleaning out little places.  Nothing that has made a noticeable difference, but I know that a few things are done.

It feels so much like wasting valuable time, no kids, no schedule, I dream about that when I am running hither and yon the rest of the year.  But something holds me back.  I think I just need to recuperate.  I need to rest, and play a little.  And completely veg-out.  I am still feeling exhausted by the time I start dinner.  I am still so tired.  I do have a good list going, and I have crossed a few things off!  Woot!  But not anywhere near the amount that I had planned before finals week.

It really bothers me.  A lot.

This is the time that I cherish, yet I feel guilty about it, and feel like I am squandering such a great opportunity.  I am mostly disappointed in myself.

Here is what I am proud of:  I have walked every ding-dang day this week.  Yay me!

Here is what I am grateful for:

  • Nicholas having his best friend over tonight for a sleep over.
  • Sarah’s ambition
  • Katie being willing to take a risk and join a traveling softball team in addition to her city league.
  • Having a long, leisurely lunch with my best friend today.  It doesn’t happen often enough.
  • Crossing several things off my list, and keeping up with putting things on my list as I think about them.
2 Comments
  1. June 7, 2014 2:12 am

    Those are such good things! Stop beating yourself up. Life is too short to beat yourself up. You do what yo can and enjoy what you can. HUGS!

Comments are closed.

