Skip to content

Almost Bed Time

September 11, 2016

Everyone else has ascended the stairs.  Each in their own rooms.  Some lights, I’m sure, are still aglow.  Some are extinguished.

I am sitting alone.  Feet up on the ottoman, computer in my lap.

It is quiet, save for the tapping of my fingers on the keyboard.

Someone left the light on in the family room.

I have two lamps alighting my work in here.

It is quiet, save for the tapping of my fingers on the keyboard.

I feel the weight of darkness slip in from outside and settle on my shoulders.

My eyelids are relaxing.  I yawn intermittently.

Someone is finally getting into bed, their footsteps loud against the quiet.  I wish them still.

I can feel the pull of my own bed, my smooth purple sheets, my cool, soft pillow.

I still have work to finish before my slumber.

I wonder how long it will take?

My wish for you:  Sleep well.

Good night.

2 Comments
  1. September 12, 2016 12:43 pm

    so calm and peaceful! Love this! AND O!! PURPLE SHEETS! (I have purple sheets, too!)

    • September 12, 2016 7:37 pm

      Only cool people have purple sheets. :)

Comments are closed.

