Skip to content

And it begins…

December 23, 2016

screen-shot-2016-12-23-at-8-05-18-am

Today is the day!  It is Christmas Eve, Eve which marks the beginning of our family celebration.

This year has been a “denial” year in terms of Christmas.  I just finished my finals last week, and I was wiped out.  Jeff and Nicholas traveled to Duluth for a hockey tournament and I stayed back with Sarah and Katie, mostly to shovel and drive them places.  Those two girls decorated the house and put the tree up.  Sarah put all the lights on the tree herself.  It was wonderful.  On Sunday night we put on the ornaments, and I began Christmas shopping.  I finished on Wednesday…sort of.  I still had two things to get for Katie, but it was planned:  I would pick up one thing after I dropped Nicholas off for hockey that night and we would go to get her tap shoes when I dropped the girls off for their movie on Thursday.  BUT…dun, dun, DUN…instead…I got the stomach flu.  So did Katie.  Such bad timing!  Actually there never is a really great time to get sick.  I came home from my hair appointment on Wednesday and went to bed.  I stayed in bed most of the day yesterday, but did get up to wrap the presents.  They are currently under the tree looking festive.  I told Katie we would try to get her tap shoes today (I need her feet to get them) and that she can pick her own sweatshirt when she goes to dance….Merry, Merry!  So, she gets the flu and gets stiffed on the presents!  Poor kid.

This morning, I am still in bed.  My first task is to go to the grocery store.  I will be making our traditional lasagna for dinner tonight, and I will be making Christmas dinner on Sunday, as well as Christmas breakfast.  As I gaze out my bedroom window at the lightening sky, I am aware how little time I get to gaze, and how much I miss that.  There is a squirrel’s nest in our tree, and I wonder if they are still snuggled in sleeping, or if they are out searching for that elusive acorn.  I am excited to have a little bit of time to gaze before going back to work.

I am also happy to begin the celebration.  This is the season of love and giving.  I am trying to hold on to those things.  I still need to finish the cards, and go to the post office.  And tomorrow we will deliver the cookies to our neighbors.

I am wishing you all a Merry Christmas.  May love lead us all into 2017, and be the beacon of hope for all of us.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 25, 2016 2:37 pm

    I hope you are feeling better! Being sick for Christmas sucks, especially as it just adds to the stress of trying to get everything done. I wish you a fantastic 2017 Megsie! Merry Merry to you and yours!!

Leave a Reply

