Skip to content

On balance

September 10, 2016

It should read “On balance“but I couldn’t get the strike through to work…

I am procrastinating right now.  Have you ever seen this?

It makes me laugh every single time, because I have that damn monkey in my head.  This post is my case in point.

An illustration:  I have been telling myself that I need to to laundry for about two weeks.  (Could be longer, but that’s just embarrassing.)  Yesterday I wore a skirt that “looked okay” when I put it on and about half way to work I understood why it was NOT okay.  Oh, well.  I lived through it.  Now.  One would think that as soon as I got home, a load of laundry would be happily splish-splashing it’s way to being hung up in my closet.  Or at the very least, the first thing this morning…  It is 1:45.  PM.  No laundry.

HOWEVER:  The guy who has been slotted to fix my dishwasher has been waiting for a part for a long time, and it came in last week sometime.  I texted him last night to see if he could come this morning.  He texted me at 9:20 that he would be here at 10:00.  I washed all the dishes in the dishwasher by hand, cleaned the kitchen, and took a shower…I was ready when he rang the doorbell.  All of the kitchen NEEDED (desperately) to be cleaned, but wasn’t yet on the nonexistent list.  And now it is done!  And my kitchen is all sparkly!

I also said to myself that the stack of 50 papers needed to be done before I got out of bed.  Well.  I had to clean the kitchen.  And after the guy left, I watched Youtube videos for a while and ate lunch and read some blogs and checked my email and decided to write a post instead.

I get frustrated with myself.

So the papers are next to me.  It is a glorious fall day.  The windows are open.  And I. don’t. want. to.

I have hundreds of more papers on the floor.  Those 50 are just my first job.  I should really put in a load of laundry too.

 

2 Comments
  1. September 11, 2016 7:59 am

    I find making shorter lists of my long lists helps. And making lists of the little things that have to be done before the big things can be done also helps. And doing SOME of the things, then taking a gratuitous-monkey break, and then doing some MORE of the things helps, too. I am a procrastinator at heart, but I have learned to keep that damn monkey in check. Of course, I am OLD and it has taken me FOREVER and sometimes the monkey wins anyway, but overall, it’s a workable process. I hope you get your stuff done! And enjoy the glorious day as well! YAY!

  2. September 11, 2016 8:56 pm

    Oh, yes. I have all those tricks as well…post-it notes for the “to do” etc. You will be happy to note that ALL of my laundry is done and put away, except what is left in the drier right now, but that is mostly underwear-easy to throw in a drawer. I have done all the grading for one class, and most of it for my other class that meets tomorrow. I am taking a short break now so I can get back to it. I think I will stay up until it is done. I think I needed a day off. I usually don’t get one. :)

Comments are closed.